Snail mail

30 May

It’s no secret that I love getting mail. Real, old-fashioned, snail mail- not the kind that leaves my inbox full of horoscope predictions and Kohl’s coupons (I always forget to print and use them anyway). So, when I received two pieces of mail on Saturday, I was pleasantly surprised.

The first piece of mail was a package that I was anxiously waiting, though not expecting so soon.

Inside was the Barre3 Total Body Lift Workout DVD, and the complimentary FitBALL Mini. I read Jenna’s review of this workout last week, and since the lovely ladies of barre3 offered her readers a 20% discount, I wanted to try it even more.

I completed the 40 minute workout for the first time this morning, and I can confidently say that I know it will be a new favorite of mine. It is ballet, pilates and yoga inspired, targeting all areas of the body- legs, arms, abs, and butt. I could feel the burn the most on the legs portion, which is supposed to be the hardest- although I have feeling my whole body may be feeling a good hurt by tomorrow morning. Definitely $23.00 well spent :).

The second piece of mail arrived in the form of a letter, and when I first opened it, I actually had no idea what it was.

Then, as I read further, I remembered. During my senior year of high school, five years ago, my government teacher had us each write a letter to ourselves. We wrote about our short-term goals, our long-term goals, our wildest dream, what we would look for in a future mate, and so on. When we were finished writing, we put the letter in a self-addressed envelope, with two stamps (in case the cost of postage went up- which it did). He promised that he would mail us the letter in five years, when most of us would be out of college and in our “adult life.”

As I read through the letter, I realized that even though many things in my life have changed, many of my goals and dreams have remained the same. I still want to visit Venice, Italy; I still want to get married and raise a family one day, and I still want to have a successful career. Although I am not a pharmacist or engineer (what I thought I wanted to be at the time), I think I am now on a path more suitable for me. I also thought I might marry my high school boyfriend, which is kind of funny, considering I broke up with him one month after writing that letter. Shows how seriously I took my “love life” at the time :).

I think that of all the assignments I completed in high school, this was one of the most valuable. Thank you, Mr. Smith, wherever you are now (I found out that he has since retired), for that :).

I do wish, however, that I could have received a letter from my future self when I was in high school. Obviously that is not possible, but I think it would have saved me from a lot of heartache and stress. Tomorrow I will be back with a letter to myself, written from today’s point of view to myself, five years younger. Wouldn’t it have been nice to know then, what I know now? I think so. If any of you readers are younger than I am, I think you might interested too ;).

Well, I am off to a Memorial Day party at Jordan’s house. Time to soak up some sun! Enjoy your holiday!

How would you feel reading a letter to yourself, that was written five years ago?

I felt kind of funny first, and a little sad, because all of my high school memories began rushing back, especially since my youngest sister is now in the place that I was then. It was definitely a valuable experience though- and something that I can keep forever!

Have your goals and dreams changed much in five years?

7 Responses to “Snail mail”

  1. Brittany May 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I love love love getting those letters to our future selves! Such a great reminder of things past!

  2. sadie lincoln May 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Emily, thank you for trying the barre3 DVD! Stay tuned for more late this summer. Loved reading your blog. Keep it up!

  3. Katie May 30, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    When I was in school some kids got to do time capsules. I never got to do one, but I would have found it interesting to see what I would have put in one. It was nice of your teacher to stick to his word and send you the letter.

  4. Colleen May 31, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    This is honestly one of the coolest things I’ve ever heard about! I’m a sucker for letters, and I’ve written in journals and whatnot my entire life, but to get a letter from myself out of the blue would be so cool. You should find your teacher and thank him! He’s a pretty smart dude 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 31, 2011 at 9:11 am #

      I know…I need to find his email address or something! He taught 7 different government classes when I was there, and he had been teaching for a long time, so I can’t even imagine how many letters he has sent so far!!

Leave a Reply

