CoverGirl for a day

1 Jun

Let’s face it. Make-up is expensive. Impatience may or may not be one contributing factor to my normal (five minute) make-up routine, consisting of only mineral foundation and mascara, but cost is definitely another. It can cost a lot of money to purchase the perfect shade of eyeliner, eyeshadow, mascara, and lipgloss, making sure the colors don’t clash- and having to buy new shades when they do. So when CoverGirl and Kroger paired up to help me become a CoverGirl for a day (okay, so not really, I just kind of felt like one 🙂) I was grateful for the opportunity.

Channeling my inner America’s Next Top Model, with my $30 gift card in tow, I headed to the make-up aisle of Kroger to pick up the items I have been needing wanting the most. I can be a little indecisive at times, so I gave myself a shopping time limit, just like they do in the ANTM CoverGirl challenges. However, five minutes quickly turned into thirty. Oops :).

I wasn’t sure how many products I would be able to buy with $30, but with the help of my Kroger Plus Card, and the excellent sales going on that day, I was able to snag 6 (!!) products.

CoverGirl is the only eye make-up I use, because it agrees with my sensitive skin, so I already knew that I wanted to look at the mascara, eyeshadow, and eyeliner. My college eye make-up routine consisted of swiping on two layers of black-brown mascara and calling it a day, but since I’m no longer wearing a backpack or heading to class, I figure I could mix up my look a little too :).

So, for my eyes, I purchased:

LashBlast Fusion Mascara in Black– It’s lengthening, thickening, and water resistant- perfect for the summer humidity!

Perfect Point Plus Eyeliner in Grey Khaki– It’s also water resistant, and has a built in sharpener, which is always nice.

Eye Enhancers Eyeshadow Trio in Shimmering Sands– I went into this shopping trip thinking that I would try some bright, fun eyeshadow that I wouldn’t normally wear, and then I ended up returning to an old favorite (go figure). I started using this high school, and I’m still drawn toward the subtle, earthy colors today.

They look pretty, but I still prefer a more natural look :).

CG Eyelash Curler– Okay, so I lied before. Besides putting on mascara, I always curl my eyelashes. Even though I have curly hair and eyebrows (I know, weird), my eyelashes are stick straight, especially when it’s humid outside. Since I couldn’t find the eyelash curler refills that I needed, I decided to go ahead and buy a new eyelash curler. For around $5, it wasn’t bad at all.

I still had money left after picking out my eye make-up, so I decided to move onto lips next. I am not a lipstick girl, but I do like lip gloss with a little bit of color.

Wetslicks Fruit Spritzers in Raspberry Splash– I went with the fruit spritzers gloss. Funny enough, I believe this was featured on ANTM a few years ago, and it really does live up to its advertisement. I chose the raspberry for its subtle dark pink shimmer, but it comes in several other colors, perfect for matching any skin tone.

After choosing those five products, I still had enough money left for at least one more item. I buy my mineral foundation, blush and bronzer at a speciality store, but I decided that I could use some liquid concealer to cover up the imperfections that are the result of stress.

Fresh Complexion Concealer in Creamy Natural– For under $4, this concealer was a steal. After opening it I realized that it might be a little too light for my summer skin, but a little goes a long way, and I can save it for the winter months, when my skin is more pasty again ;).

After my little shopping spree, I headed to the self-checkout where my items rang up for under $30. Meaning, I still have about 70 cents to spare :). I tried out my new make-up this past weekend, and was very happy with all of my purchases.

Although I won’t be joining Taylor Swift or Rihanna in their CoverGirl commercials anytime soon, it was fun to feel like a CoverGirl, if just for a day. An added bonus, of course, is that I now have six new items of make-up that will last me awhile. And this recently graduated, still unemployed girl is very thankful for that :).

Do you wear CoverGirl?

What are some of your favorite products?

Thank you to Kroger and CoverGirl for sponsoring this review. While CoverGirl provided me with a $30 gift card to purchase CoverGirl products at Kroger stores, the opinions I’ve expressed here are solely my own, represent my honest viewpoint, and not that of CoverGirl, Kroger, or Proctor & Gamble. I am making no claims about the products, just expressing my thoughtful opinion. Clever Girls Collective supports Blog With Integrity.

5 Responses to “CoverGirl for a day”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 13, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I wish Krogar and CG would sponsor me bahaha. My two favorite things seriously. I do agree though, makeup is so expensive but certainly worth it. I would have gotten some crazy colored eye shadow to make Tyra proud lolz. 😉

  2. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean June 13, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    what a fun experience!!

  3. Stevie June 14, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    I got the Wetslicks gloss, too. I went with the Wetslicks Crystals. It is so shimmery and pretty! I love it.

Leave a Reply

