Summer swelter

1 Jun

I love summer, I really do. I love the blue skies, the green grass, and the fact that my pile of laundry seems so much smaller without the addition of long pants and bulky sweaters. But the heat? Well, the heat and I kind of have a love/hate relationship. When it is nearing 90 degrees at 10:00 in the morning, it’s just a little too hot for me. Thankfully, I have a few favorites to get me through the hot summer months .

What helps me ease the swelter of a sweltering hot day?

Because squinty eyes are never cute. My new pair of $12.99 Target shades- nothing designer for me, I have broken too many pairs of sunglasses for that  :).

An at-home mani/pedi is always a nice distraction from the humidity, and cute toes are important in flip-flop weather :).

The Starbucks drive-thru is always a nice splurge on a hot day. Yesterday’s concoction- Soy Coffee Frappuccino (an excellent suggestion made by my sister).

And, of course, I have to protect my skin. In the summer, I wear this in place of my usual (Bath & Body Works) body lotion. It has aloe and sunscreen- can’t really beat that!

Since I’ve been staring out the window the whole time I’ve been writing this, I now want to be outside in the sun (and heat)- go figure :). Because when all else fails, I embrace the summer heat. My pasty winter complexion could use a little color, anyway :).

Time to slather on the sunscreen and soak up some rays. Enjoy your Wednesday!

What are some of your summer favorites?

Do you embrace the heat, or do you prefer to stay inside?

3 Responses to “Summer swelter”

  1. yourdailygrace June 1, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I don;t love the heat unless I’m somewhere near some water I can cool off in! I’ve never seen that Vasaline before but it sounds great! I need all the spf I can get:) I have to always have a huge bottle of water with me, shades, and of course bright pink nail polish!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy June 1, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      I think I got it at Wal-Mart..it is nice for running errands, especially :). I forgot about water..I always have that with me!

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign June 1, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    I tend to break all of my sunglasses too–usually by sitting on them or tossing them into my purse without a case. Luckily Target keeps them pretty cheap!

    Pretty nail polish!

Leave a Reply

