You’re in a better place, Grandpa

6 Jun

After an emotionally exhausting couple of days in Michigan, I said my final goodbyes to my grandpa on Saturday morning, and we came back to Indiana, praying, waiting. This morning my mom came in my room with the news. My grandpa passed away in his sleep last night.

He will no longer have to suffer here on Earth; we know that he is in a better place.

When I think of my grandpa, I don’t think of the silent, sleeping man whom I said goodbye to in the nursing home. I think of the man in that photo above.

The strong, stubborn, confident man.

The head of the household, the head of the family.

The buyer of ice cream, when we came to visit.

The competitive runner, the Korean War veteran.

The entrepreneur, the intelligent, financially-savvy man.

The man my grandma called “my husband” for 57 years, the man my mom called “Dad” for 50 years, the man I called “Grandpa” for 22 years.

The man who often showed his love and affection through his actions rather than his words.

The man who will be greatly missed.

I love you, Grandpa. I know you’re watching over me <3.

7 Responses to “You’re in a better place, Grandpa”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign June 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    What a great tribute to your grandpa; sorry about your loss… 😦

  2. Mel (mmmstories) June 6, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss! Your grandpa sounds like an amazing man – I’m sure he is in a better place.

  3. Jess June 6, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your loss, you will be in my thoughts and prayers!

  4. Brittany June 6, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    My sweet girl! I’m so sorry for you. If you need anything, tweet or email me! You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers! xoxo

  5. Kristie June 6, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    I’m so sorry Emily. Hugs, thoughts and best wishes to you and your whole family. xo

  6. yourdailygrace June 7, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    It is so great that you have those amazing memories of your grandpa and that is what truly matters. I am sure he is very happy now and looking over you. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  7. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries June 8, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    I’m so sorry 😦 Thinking of you and sending prayers your way!!!

Leave a Reply

