My aha moment

13 Jun

So, I haven’t blogged in a week. I just felt it wouldn’t be appropriate to write about my grandpa one day, and my cereal the next. Plus, I just needed some time away from the computer. Some time with my family. Some time with my thoughts.

During this time away from blogging, I had an “aha moment.” You know what I realized? Blogging isn’t everything. I used to get stressed out if I missed a post. I used to get stressed out if I had too many unread blogs. I used to get stressed out if I didn’t have an access to a computer, access to my blog, twitter, or Facebook. It took the loss of a loved one to make me realize that there’s more to life than technology. That’s just sad.

Last week I finished two novels. I didn’t apply for any jobs. I sat in the sun, not feeling guilty for just sitting. I spent three days in Michigan, grieving the loss of my grandpa with my family. I didn’t read blogs. I didn’t take pictures.

And you know what? I’m okay :). My blog’s still here, my Facebook account didn’t close, and twitter is just as stalkerish as always. There’s so much more to life than technology. Life goes by fast. If I spend three hours of my day on the computer, I’m losing three hours a day that I could be spending with my boyfriend, my family, my friends. That adds up. And really, it’s kind of silly.

I don’t want to sit on the computer watching my life go by. I want to live my life.

Source

Thank you, Grandpa, for making me realize that :).

 

3 Responses to “My aha moment”

  1. Mel (mmmstories) June 13, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    That’s a great attitude! Sometimes you just need a break to spend time with yourself and soak up life! You’re right, the internet isn’t going anywhere but when you come back refreshed, that’s the best! Welcome back.

  2. jade June 15, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    I love your aha moment and can totally relate. Blogging and being online can take up so much of your time- it’s nice to sit back and reflect and remember to actually live your life… that’s what is fun about blogging in the first place, right?!

Leave a Reply

