Miss Independent

15 Jun

Yesterday was a big day for me. It was the first day I have really had any sort of “normal” routine all summer, and it was also a day filled with two job interviews. Since I wanted to be relaxed and prepared for my interviews, I slept in a little, and for breakfast, I made a big plate of chocolate chip pancakes.

Using the homemade pancake recipe I now know by heart, I combined 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 cup coconut milk, and a handful of chocolate chips. I topped them with whipped cream, and devoured all five of them 🙂 (this recipe serves one).

I had planned to workout after breakfast, but decided against it for fear of being pressed for time. I got ready, put on my “interview outfit,” and mentally prepared myself for potential interview questions.

Preparing for the interviews quickly turned into rushing around, because I started reading blogs and lost track of time before I knew it, it was time to hit the road. Luckily, I made it to the first interview without speeding, and with four minutes to spare :). The job sounded pretty interesting, and I think the interview went well, so now it’s just a waiting game.

I had about two hours to kill before my next interview, and since they were both located pretty far from home, I decided to find something to do in the area to pass the time. Which led me to…

Fro-yo! The nearest fro-yo place is at least 3o minutes from my house, so I was pretty excited when I used my (actually, Jordan’s) handy GPS to find a red mango 10 minutes from my interview location. My original plan was to get it to go (and eat in my car), but seeing that I still had time to kill, and the outside temp. was reaching 80, I decided to avoid a melty fro-yo mess, and eat inside- alone. I found a table by the window, and told myself not to feel like “a loser” for sitting by myself. Actually, I felt pretty independent. I didn’t mind that I didn’t have anyone to talk to or anything to read. I just enjoyed my fro-yo…

and I didn’t have to share ;).

I think the second interview went pretty well, too, but by the time I got home, I was exhausted. Jordan took me to dinner before leaving for a work trip, and then I went for a long walk.

Yesterday made me realize that I am growing up a little more each day. I mean, eating fro-yo in a public place by myself is a big step, right ;)?

Do you feel comfortable eating alone in a public place?

 

13 Responses to “Miss Independent”

  1. Ashley June 15, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    I definitely feel comfortable eating out on my own. Often times I’ll take myself out for sushi dinners by myself. Although most of the time I bring a book or whip out my ipod so that at least I’m occupied while waiting for the food/eating my meal. I probably would feel awkward if I didn’t have something with me to do while eating.

    PS – I’ve been a silent reader/lurker for a little while now but I love your blog! =)

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign June 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I always feel strange eating alone, too!

  3. Katie June 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    It is good to hear that your job interviews are all going well for you.
    I think it is a tad lonley eating out alone. Like people are looking at you thinking, where are your friends?

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 15, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I sometimes go get a salad or food for Farm fresh and eat alone. I’m normally on my phone texting someone or blog reading so I guess it’s not really alone.

    You look adorable for you interviews. I hope you got them.

  5. Mel (mmmstories) June 16, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Congrats on the interviews! Hope you hear back soon!

    My mom always says one of the best traits to have is to be good company to yourself! If you can get past wondering what others are thinking (where I fall short sometimes), its nice to have time just to your thoughts and reflection. Also, maybe it’s just a grown up thing to push yourself outside your comfort zone. IDK, I’m still working on becoming a grown up 🙂

  6. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen June 16, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I actually had chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast today – great minds think alike? 🙂 I think that eating by yourself is no big deal, definitely doesn’t mean your a loser. Hope your interview went well!

  7. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions June 26, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Just found your blog via Girl Meets Life, hence the super late comment, buttttt…

    My sophomore year of college, I was on a 15-meals-per-week meal plan. Due to the fact that I’m…well, pretty much just like you, from reading your My Story page…I had an extraordinarily difficult time making friends at school. It takes me awhile to come out of my shell, to say the least. I could never bring myself to ask people if they would go to lunch/dinner with me because I didn’t want to be *that* girl (the needy, clingy one), so instead I would go by myself. All. The. Time. I pretty much counted on eating 11 of my 15 meals alone each week. Actually, I kind of did everything by myself. Such is life when you’re too worried about what others think to ever ask if you can tag along with anyone, anywhere. It really, really sucked, but it’s made me a lot more comfortable doing things on my own now. I don’t particularly like to be independent–I’d much rather have company when doing something–but I’m at least able to be independent and not feel like a complete loser now, so I guess that’s the silver lining to all of that.

Leave a Reply

