Unemployment blues

16 Jun

I think I know why my mom made sure she had so many activities planned for my sisters and I in the summertime when we were growing up. A person can go a little stir crazy being at home all day. My recent bout of unemployment (I hate that word, by the way) has taught me that.

When I was little, my mom signed us up for book club at the library, swimming lessons at the pool, day camp at the rec center, craft camp at Michaels, vacation bible school, and the list goes on. Now that I’m nearing 23-years-old, I am practically old enough to have my own kids to take to those activities, but I don’t plan on venturing into that territory anytime soon. So, that leaves me at home saying thinking ten-year-old thoughts of “I’m bored.”

While job searching and blogging take up a fair amount of my time at home, I am now realizing that I don’t think I could ever work from home. Besides putting on my workout clothes, I don’t even get dressed or put on make-up anymore during my “work week.”

“But I changed out of my pajamas…this is my dressed up look…”

It’s kind of pathetic, really. And although it makes for less laundry, (always a plus), it also makes me feel a little…lazy.

So today, I made myself get out of the house. I don’t like spending money when I’m not making money, but I’m realizing that if I don’t get out and do something at least once a day, I start to go to a “Oh my gosh, I’m not even contributing anything to society anymore, maybe I should just apply to McDonald’s- they’re always hiring” place of mind. Stir crazy, I tell ya.

When I began craving veggies today, a rarity in this chocolate-loving girl’s life, I decided to jump at the chance to get out of the house, and headed to Subway.

Once I bought my veggie flatbread, I remembered that I had a Starbucks gift card tucked away in my purse, so I decided to take advantage of some extra time away from home, and drove there to order a frappucino. Only after I pulled out of the drive-thru did I realize that I forgot to ask for soy milk. Good thing I’m not lactose intolerant- I took a big sip before I even remembered my milk mistake.

Once back at home, I set up my job searching/blogging/Facebook stalking “office” outside. I cannot pass up this not-too-warm and sunny day.

The less than 15 minute trip away from home was surprisingly just what I needed to get out of my “I should just work at McDonald’s” funk. Granted, I’m still in my no make-up, running shorts and tank top state, but I’ll work on that later ;).

Do you get “bored” if you’re at home for a long period of time?

Have you ever been unemployed? What do you do to maintain some type of routine or schedule?

15 Responses to “Unemployment blues”

  1. scatterbrainjane June 16, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Girl I feel your pain! I was unemployed for 4 months after college and went CRAZY! I tried my best to keep busy by applying for jobs, blogging, working out and taking the dogs on many walks. Just remember- you will be SO thankful once you find something because you had this time to realize that you DONT like not working. I thnk it really helps and it gives working a new appreciation. Just keep yourself busy- something will come along when the time is right!

  2. Amanda @ Fashionably Plate June 16, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I feel you girl! I just graduated from college in May and spend every day just sitting around looking for jobs and facebook stalking! My workout clothes are totally my uniform! It was nice to have a break for a month or two but now I am definitely ready to get a job!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 16, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Yes! I seriously cannot be sitting around for long periods or I get hella bored. My mom used to sign me up for those Micheal’s craft classes too. Twinnies!

  4. Brenda@Year25 June 16, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I can totally relate; while I’ve never been unemployed, I am a teacher who has free time during the summer. After my first year of teaching, I thought, “I’m not going to work during the summer.” OMG, I was so bored. Everyone else was working, and there was nothing to do. I learned my lesson and this summer have taken on a part-time job, of sorts, tutoring 6 hours a week. It doesn’t sound like much (and def. doesn’t add up to much!), but it’s great to have a reason to get out of the house and as you said- not spend money. Other than that, I read, clean, volunteer, cook, hang by the pool, and work on decorating my house. Hope that gives you some ideas! Good luck!

  5. Brittany June 16, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Ohh my gosh, I was unemployed from December until May, and I thought it was great at first. I enjoyed the break..but after a few weeks I was bored all.the.time. All I would do is sit at home and eat..it seriously sucked. I finally started to look for a job and fortunately found one, I don’t know how I went months without being crazy busy! Good luck on the hunt!

  6. Karolina June 17, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    When I work from home, I definitely sport the comfy look. If I worked out of my home all the time, I may stay in comfy clothes, no makeup, and hair in a bun on top of my head all the time. I hope your job search goes quickly!

  7. Carolina June 17, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Working out, reading & watching movies were my defaults when I was unemployed…now I wish I had more time for all of these. Enjoy the down time while you can, I’m sure you’ll get a job very soon! 🙂

  8. squigglefloey June 19, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Ahh I guess I could say I’m officially unemployed! I just graduated and don’t have a job or one lined up yet — so I’ll be on the job search just like you! I’m moving back home and am seriously scared as to how things are going to be. While I love my parents to death, I know that sometimes we can get on each other’s nerves — and I worry that they’ll think I’m just being a bum without a job (I know I’ll start feeling like one) 😦 Unfortunately I predict it will be awhile before I probably find one.
    Good luck with your search! You seem very proactive so I’m sure you’ll do fine 🙂

  9. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions June 26, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Oh man, I hate being at home for long periods of time. Two weeks is about as long as I can handle without having anything to do, if that. I mean, I like my downtime just as much as the next person, but I just feel like I’m wasting my life away when I’m “unemployed” for any extended period of time. Last summer I had a month off between the end of school and the beginning of my summer job, and by the end of it I was going insane. I spent all my time on the computer doing absolutely nothing worthwhile, and it was awful. Then I spent the rest of my summer working at summer camp, so my boredom vanished pretty quickly 😉

    The summer after my freshman year of college, I was only semi-employed–working maybe 10-15 hours per week if I was lucky. I spent my spare time writing a novel. I ended up writing a full novel and revising the entire thing that summer, which was a really rewarding experience. I don’t plan on doing much of anything with it, at least not until it’s undergone some more major revisions, but it was still a really cool and productive way to spend my downtime.

Leave a Reply

