Social media revolution

21 Jun

Thank you to BING Social Search for sponsoring my post about social media. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

 

Before there was MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, WordPress and LinkedIn, there was…wait- what was there??

Source

Oh yeah…now I remember ;).

We are growing up in a generation of texters, tweeters and bloggers. Fifteen years ago, I don’t even think those words existed.

Social media has, no doubt, made a difference in many of our lives. It’s almost hard for me to think of what my life was like before it existed (how did I communicate?), but here are just a few ways social media has changed my life…

1. My cell phone minutes are no longer running out– Before social media sites (like the oh-so-addicting Facebook), I would just call up a friend. Now the only people I call are my parents, or Jordan, and usually it’s just to inquire about dinner. Actually, the last time my phone rang, “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” was coming out of the speakers- a reminder that I have not bothered to update my ringtone since Christmas :/.

2. I now have 304 friends and 70 followers. Before Facebook, I could count the number of my friends on one hand. Now I have 304 of them, and quite frankly, I’m not sure I’ve even met some of them in person. Then there’s Twitter. Before Twitter, having just one “follower” would have led me to my local police station. Now I get discouraged that I only have 70. If I was even a little bit of a narcissist before, I think am sure that social media has only intensified that little problem.

Source

3. I spend most of my day on the computer. There are several reasons for this (like job searching and freelancing), but when we really get down it….let’s face it, I’m nosy. I like knowing what people are up to. So, I check Facebook, Twitter and blogs fifteen five times too many throughout my day.

Jordan says that I need to work on this, and can I really ignore the suggestion? When you must read someone’s food diary before having a conversation with your boyfriend, you know you have issues to get your priorities straight.

4. Job opportunities opened up. As a graduate of Communication Studies, social media is kind of a blessing in disguise. Although print newspapers and magazines are slowly working their way out of society (and therefore, taking lots of jobs with them), the job market in social media is expanding. Even doing freelance work (like sponsored blog posts 😉), is great work experience for an aspiring writer.

5. I have a positive outlet. I’m the type of person who is much more open in writing than I am in a face-to-face or phone conversation. Blogging, Facebook, and even Twitter, help me to get my feelings on paper out in the open, without too much fear of being judged. I feel like I have formed friendships (blendships?) with so many bloggers, even though I’ve never met them (you). It makes those hours spent on the computer seem worth it :).

If social media has changed my life this much in the past few years, I can’t imagine what is in store for the years to come.

Source

I’d say it’s a revolution.

How has social media changed your life?

Are you guilty of spending too much time on Facebook/Twitter/blogs?

9 Responses to “Social media revolution”

  1. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots June 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I don’t even know how to fathom how much social media has changed my life. I have eased up a lot on facebook use but it very much changes how I keep in touch with people… or whether I can keep in touch with them.

    And yes, Id efinitely spend too much time on blogs/twitter sometimes :/ I kind of enjoyed taking a few weeks mostly off… I mean, okay, i was checking up on blogs but it was freeing for at least a few days when I was just out and about and living without worrying about the blog. Sometmies I think if I had a more active social life I wouldn’t feel the need to be as invested in blogging, but anyways…

    Great post! 🙂
    ❤
    n

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy June 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Thank you :)! I agree…if my social life were busier, I’m not so sure I’d spend so much time blogging…then again, it’s kind of comforting to me, and something I look forward to!

  2. squigglefloey June 22, 2011 at 5:33 am #

    Hey girl!
    Yeah, I am definitely more comfortable with expressing myself in writing rather than face to face. I would blame this on social media, but I was pretty much always like this since I was younger. Yay for the written word! 🙂
    Glad to see someone write a positive post about social media. It really has opened lots of doors 🙂 Hope your summer is going well!

  3. Lindsay @ In Sweetness and In Health June 22, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    So true! It’s crazy to think about sometimes. I love social media- but I definitely can spend too much time using it haha..oh well. I just started blogging and it’s awesome! I am better at written communication as well, so finding something that I love is great 🙂 I love your blog!

  4. Emma June 22, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I just came across your blog and thought this was an interesting post! I often think about how much the internet and social media plays a roll in my life and sometimes I find all this technology so overwhelming and it almost makes me feel worse about myself. But as with everything there is a positive and negative to it, and as you said it does make for an awesome outlet 🙂

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) June 22, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    i like your blog- you seem so real and down to earth! i completely agree with this post- the social media, even though i prob spend too much time on it, has helped me a TON. I even got a writing job from it! It also makes me feel like I have some kind of hobby

Leave a Reply

