Indy bloggers

29 Jun

Today I have spent the majority of the day in bed. I got out of the house this morning for a little bit, the first time I’ve been anywhere since last Thursday, but it did not go very well. I started to get really nauseous during the car ride (I’m not even sure why- does that usually happen after surgery?), and I’m pretty sure I scared my sister a little, because she asked me a few times if she should drive me back home instead of going into the grocery store with her. I was determined to go inside and get what I needed (Jordan’s birthday is tomorrow- I needed Funfetti cake mix), but needless to say, I was happy when I was back home and in bed again. Looks like this recovery process may be a little slower than I expected.

That might be around for awhile longer…

But at least I didn’t workout today ;).

–   –   –   –   –

On a different note, a few days ago Clare wrote about her blogger meet-up in St. Louis. I left a comment on her post, saying that people in Indianapolis still don’t know what bloggers are (I was kidding, sort of). What I really meant was, I just haven’t met a lot of bloggers from Indiana. Sometimes trends take a little longer to get to this part of the Midwest. Anyway, she suggested I try looking at a blogger database to find bloggers in my area.

As it turns out, her suggestion was a great one. While wasting endless hours on Twitter  catching up on my tweets the other day, I came across a blogger who belonged to something called “Indianapolis Bloggers.” Who would’ve doubted that such a thing existed? I clicked on the link, submitted my blog, and before I knew it, I was an accepted into the Indianapolis Bloggers as an official member.

I’m pretty excited, because I’ve always been a little jealous of the Orlando and New York blogger meet-ups that I read about from week to week. Maybe I can start a blogger meet-up trend in Indy :).

(Source)

If you do your research, you might find that your city has a similar type of website for bloggers! Thank you, Clare, for encouraging me to do some of my own research :).

Okay, well I need to drink a big glass of water and lie down again. I’m thinking that this part of my summer will make me appreciate the latter part much more than I usually would :).

Enjoy your evening!

Does your city have a site for local bloggers?

Have you ever done a blogger meet-up? If so, how did you go about organizing it?

4 Responses to “Indy bloggers”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign June 29, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    That’s so awesome that you found a network of bloggers in your area! I’m off to look for a minneapolis one now!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 30, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    There aren’t too many bloggers here either blerg or in upstate. I mean-within 4 hours I could find a few I guess. My relatives live a couple hours from Indy and if we ever go visit again, I’ll let ya know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

