Where did June go?

1 Jul

Wow, can you believe that July is already here? I don’t even know where the month of June went. June was a very bittersweet month for me. I had a hard time blogging, actually, because I didn’t know if you guys would want to read about some of my tougher days. It was a month filled with emotions:

The death of my grandpa

Interviews that didn’t turn into jobs

Unemployment blues

My first shoulder surgery

A week off from exercise

But that’s life, right? Things aren’t always going to be bright and cheery, and sometimes it takes having one difficult month to appreciate another exciting and happy month. I’m hoping that this month has wonderful things to offer…I’m ready to bring some more happiness and positivity into my life :).

*   *   *   *

Despite some of the tougher times, June ended with a celebration. Last night, Jordan and I were planning to go out to celebrate his birthday, but by the time 5:00 rolled around, the time at which I should have started getting ready, the pain in my shoulder started to kick in, and Jordan texted me saying he was worn out from a week of traveling for work. So, we changed our plans and had dinner at home. Earlier in the day I made Jordan’s favorite, a funfetti cake, so after dinner dessert was devoured.

Jeez, someone likes her ice cream

The cake was shared amongst my family, because otherwise Jordan and I would have eaten didn’t want to eat it all by ourselves.

Since it was sitting right in front of us, my sister and I continued to pick at the crumbs long after our pieces had been eaten. I made sure that Jordan took the cake home with him so there would be no temptation for a midnight snack :).

Alright, well I must get going. I’m going back to the orthopedic surgeon today to get my bandages removed, and for my first round of physical therapy. Tomorrow is my sister’s graduation party- we have family coming into town and there’s lots to do today!

Enjoy your Friday!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Did you enjoy the month of June?/What are you looking forward to in July?

5 Responses to “Where did June go?”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 1, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Holy Moly. I hope July gets better for you and you shoulder recovers well.

    My 21st birthday is in July so I’m pretty jazzed about that.

  2. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 1, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Thank you. My birthday is in July too!

  3. Jess@atasteofconfidence July 1, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Cake looks great. Hope your first round of PT went well!

  4. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 2, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    I just started following you a few weeks, and I didn’t go back to read many past postings. I’m sorry to hear about your grandpa. It’s hard to lose a grandparent:( I hope your shoulder is starting to feel better, and that you’ll be back to exercising soon:)

Leave a Reply

