Celebrating the 4th

5 Jul

After a long weekend away from technology, I am back. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who took a break from blogging this weekend- it makes for less catching up that I have to do :).

My weekend was full of parties, cookouts, sugary food, and fireworks. But I suppose that’s the way 4th of July weekend should be, right? At my house, the festivities began on Saturday, when we celebrated my sister’s high school graduation. All of my family came in from out of town, and despite the sweltering 95 degree heat, everyone had a great time.

Setting up

How cool is that?

My sister chose a Disney Princess bounce house for entertainment. It had an obstacle course and a slide inside. My boyfriend All of the kids were thrilled ;).

After my sister’s party, Jordan and I headed to our friends’ house for an early 4th of July barbecue. The guys had fun shooting off fireworks while the girls and I discussed wedding details- for some reason the guys wanted nothing to do with Spanx, catering and tri-fold invitations 😉 (the hostess of the barbecue is getting married in October, and my other friend and I are in the wedding).

Sunday and Monday consisted of two more barbecues, a viewing of Cars 2, a little too much cake, cookies and ice cream, and a fireworks show at the park. Thankfully, with a lot of sleep, PT and ice, my shoulder didn’t stop me from having fun this weekend. After going non-stop on Saturday, I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to do much the rest of the weekend, but I made it through.

It’s back to my normal routine (or lack thereof) today. Job searching is back in full force, and I have a lot of errands to run- I haven’t driven since my surgery, so my to-do list is a little lengthy.

I hope your transition back to the “real world” goes smoothly. Enjoy your Tuesday!

How did you celebrate the 4th?

If you have been in a wedding, did you wear Spanx or some type of corset with your bridesmaid dress? My friends and I were debating if it would be worth it or not…

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Celebrating the 4th”

  1. MJ July 5, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I wore one. I was stubborn in ordering my dress and even though I know they run big, I got a size I wanted to get, not one that my measurements said I should get and it fit fine, but the spanx (mine was a tummy plus shorts compression thingy) made me feel better, particularly because it was a very slim shape dress. Just don’t drink too much because it’s no fun pulling it up and down time after time to pee!

    I’m in two weddings this fall and ordered the dress sizes the shops told me to order (two different sizes based on the exact same measurements…bridal shops are such a pain), but I’m assuming they’re going to come in much bigger than I need it to be and the shape of both of these dresses is more poufy in the skirt, so I’m not sure I’ll wear it again.

  2. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 5, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    It sounds like you had a great weekend! I’m glad your shoulder didn’t act up much and that you were able to have lots of fun! I’ve never worn anything under a bridesmaids dress. BUT- there are certain types of fabrics and dress styles where I could see it would be more flattering to wear them…

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 5, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Yeah…the style of dress that I’m wearing doesn’t really need anything, and it might be uncomfortable after a few hours? I don’t know…

  3. Meaghan July 5, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Unless you really feel you need the spanx I would suggest skipping them! And that is coming from a girl who LOVES her spanx 😛 But if the style of dress doesn’t really call for it, they can be a big pain in the bum. Esp since it will be a long day and you will definitely have to pee at least a couple times, more if you drink at all!

  4. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 5, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    True life: I saw Cars 2 over the weekend as well. Haha.

    That bounce house looks like the sweetest thing EVER. Just sayin.

    Unfortunately I can’t contribute to the Spanx discussion as I have never been in a wedding/never worn Spanx. Good luck with the job search!!

  5. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 5, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Ha I agree. I feel like a lot of people take breaks when I do and it makes it far easier to “catch up.” I actually wear spandex with all my dresses because I just feel better, especially at college parties with grimey men.

  6. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign July 5, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    I celebrated the 4th with lots of pool time. Glad to hear I wasn’t the only one to take a break this weekend.

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE those jumpy things…even at age 23! So much fun!!

Leave a Reply

