When I grow up… I want to be a cake decorator?

6 Jul

This morning I got up bright and early, waking up with the most energy I’ve had in two weeks. It’s definitely a nice feeling. These past two weeks have been filled with lots of lounging on the couch, and I’m actually excited to get out of the house and get stuff done today!

I’ve already made my bed (a small task but a big accomplishment, nonetheless), done my at-home PT, thrown in two loads of laundry, washed some dishes, and made breakfast. After a weekend filled with sweets, I went against my norm, and went for something more savory this morning.

A light multigrain English muffin topped with half a slice of colby jack cheese, and an egg. I’m trying to get in more fruits and veggies with every meal, so I also had a peach on the side.

The rest of my day will consist of running some errands, getting my allergy shot, and job searching. I also need to go to Michael’s to sign up for a cake decorating class (wait, what?). My sisters signed up for the class a few weeks ago, but thinking that I’d have a job by now, I didn’t really consider it. Since things don’t always turn out the way we think they will, I am still without a job. Signing up for something that will get me out of the house will be good for me- I am craving any type of routine that I can get right now. Plus, how cool will it be to learn how to decorate cakes?? Maybe I’ll be a natural- I can just forget job searching and open my own bakery ;).

Okay, well the dryer just buzzed, meaning it’s time for me to fold my clothes. Have a great Wednesday!

Do you prefer a sweet or savory breakfast?  9 times out of 10, I’ll choose something sweet!

Have you ever taken a class at Michael’s? I used to do the kid’s craft camps, but this will be my first class for adults. As of right now, I think my sisters are the only people signed up, so it looks like it could be a private lesson for our family!

2 Responses to “When I grow up… I want to be a cake decorator?”

  1. Stevie July 6, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I’m definitely a savory breakfast gal. I love eggs, hash browns, sausage, bacon….all that good stuff. But I do love a good pancake here and there!
    Michael’s has some great classes. I took a card making class once, and another class where we made a decorative photo display thing (hard to explain). Cake decorating sounds fun! A friend of mine took a cake decorating class awhile back and has been doing it ever since – even making some cash from it!

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign July 6, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m with ya–I always look forward to something sweet in the morning!

Leave a Reply

