One pound of antioxidants

7 Jul

Just as I was starting to get my energy back after my surgery, my allergies have decided to act up. Or, I’m blaming my symptoms on my allergies, because I don’t want to tell myself that I might be getting a cold. Don’t mind the fact that Jordan has been hacking up a storm congested and coughing for over a week (it’s not like we’d share germs or anything…).

Since I’d like to get rid of this thing in the fastest, most efficient way possible, I am trying to cover all of my bases. Green tea- check, antihistamine + decongestant- check, allergy shot- got it yesterday, salt water gargle- check. And when you burn your tongue on your tea and can only take prescription meds every 12 hours all else fails, you take advice from The Today Show. What, you don’t believe everything you hear on The Today Show, too?

During yesterday’s health segment, it was mentioned that one strawberry has the same amount of vitamin C as one orange. At least, that’s what I thought they said. Since I’m not a nutritionist, I googled this information to make sure that I had my facts straight. As it turns out, The Today Show was lying…or I just heard what I wanted to hear. Nonetheless, a quick shopping trip to Target and $2 later, my strawberry supply was sufficient.

I made sure to write my name on the carton,

only because I wanted to let my family know that those antioxidants were mine.

And between yesterday and today, antioxidants have been consumed. I finished off the entire thing. A pound of strawberries. All on my own. In less than 24 hours.

Do I feel any better? A little.

As it turns out, the amount of vitamin C in one cup of strawberries is just a little more than the amount of vitamin C in one orange.

Apparently someone needs her ears checked. Don’t look at me ;).

Have you ever thought you heard something correctly, when in reality, it wasn’t really that close at all?

What is your best home remedy for sinus problems?

5 Responses to “One pound of antioxidants”

  1. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 8, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    Have you ever tried a nasal rinse? You can see what I’m talking about here- I devoted an entire post to it:
    http://counselormusings.blogspot.com/2011/01/my-little-lifesaver.html

    This is seriously my lifesaver when it comes to allergies! I was one step away from needing sinus surgery, and this little bottle kept me from needing it! It’s awesome:)

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 8, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Ha yes. That is seriously the story of my life. I have such selective hearing. I also eat berries by the ten pounds. bahaha.

  3. ittybitsofbalance July 8, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    That’s hilarious! I have to write my name on EVERYTHING in my fridge if I want it to be there when I’m ready to eat it– my family has a tendency to eat the food that hasn’t been declared

Leave a Reply

