Gratitude Friday

8 Jul

Eating a pound of berries can be a good thing; I am feeling much more like myself today! Just for good measure, I threw in a half (ish) cup of mixed berries into my cereal this morning, alongside a cup of green tea with lemon.

I am going to hit the gym this morning for my first long (er) workout in two weeks. The most I’ve done since my surgery is 40 minutes of easy/moderate exercise, but now that my arm is feeling better, I’m ready to get sweaty at the gym again!

*   *   *   *

Two days ago, I finished reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.

I purchased the book per suggestion of Caitlin’s blogger book club, but I read it in hopes that it would help me find more happiness in this in-between stage that is my life after college. It was a difficult read, only because I could identify with so many of the author’s insecurities and imperfections. In the book, Rubin admits to being the type of person who focuses on the negative, not always looking at the bigger picture, not always being fully in the present moment to appreciate it. I could identify with this in so many ways.

One of my biggest takeaways from the book is that it is important to stop, everyday, and show gratitude for the good things in life. Even if everything seems to be going wrong, there is always something to be thankful for. Since the best way for me to remember what I am thankful for is by documenting it, I thought I would begin my own “Gratitude Friday”- perhaps reminding you to remember what you are thankful for too :).

Today I am grateful for…

1. A warm cozy bed and a roof over my head– I know it sounds so simple, but the other day I ran into a friend who reminded me that I am lucky to have a place to live. If it weren’t for my supportive parents, I don’t know where I’d be right now. I’m sure every parent doesn’t welcome their unemployed, nearly 23-year-old child back into their home with open arms. I’m very grateful that mine did.

2. My boyfriend– This guy is a saint.

I’ll just cut to the chase- I’m not the easiest person to deal with. I’m moody, sensitive, indecisive, a little whiny, and stubborn (obviously I’m just a treat- want to be friends ;)?). Jordan is the complete opposite. He’s one of the most mellow people I have ever met- my mood swings don’t even phase him. Thank you, God, for not letting him give up on me :).

3. Sunshine and blue skies- Because I can’t help but smile when I look outside at a perfect summer day.

Recycled photo- there are leaves on the trees now, obviously 🙂

What are you thankful for today?

11 Responses to “Gratitude Friday”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 8, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Awe this is such a great post. I am greatful for my family and having such a close one at that.

  2. Karolina July 8, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I’ve never read the book, but would like to! I do something I call the thankfulness project every Monday on my blog. Feel free to check it out:)

  3. sara @ the foodie diaries July 8, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    That book is exactly what I need right about now. I think I may actually go buy it tomorrow, I’ve been looking for a new read! Thanks for sharing love 🙂

  4. In Sweetness and In Health July 8, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I’ve actually thought about reading that book! It sounded good :). Something I’m thankful for today is my loving boyfriend!

  5. scatterbrainjane July 8, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Love this post :)! Blogger book club needs to come back..shoot I failed at that one!
    I am grateful for a wonderful talk I had today with someone- I am very thankful for that today :)!

  6. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 9, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Love this idea! At the moment, I’m particularly grateful for my parents, who let me still treat me like a kid (in a good way: making me food, doing my laundry, etc.) even though they could easily make me fend for myself like the grown-up I almost am.

  7. Grace July 10, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I love what you wrote about your boyfriend! He sounds like an amazing guy! I am also thankful that my boyfriend puts up with me but I have unfortunately I don’t think he is quite as mellow as Jordan when it comes to how crazy I am!

Leave a Reply

