Things are looking up

12 Jul

At the beginning of July, I said that June was a more difficult month for me. However, after watching the Jaycee Dugard interview on TV, I realize that my difficulties are only relative to my life, and fairly insignificant when looking at the bigger picture. I couldn’t believe how composed and optimistic Jaycee was in her interview; it really reminded me that I need to enjoy each day to the fullest. I started this blog as a goal to let go of my perfectionist tendencies, but I really need to start practicing more of a carefree mindset on a daily basis. Even though it’s my nature to be slightly anxious and paranoid (cute, I know :)), I want to try to enjoy each moment. If Jaycee Dugard can do it, I know I can too.

With that being said, things are beginning to look up! My shoulder is starting to feel better, my sinuses are no longer bothering me, and…I have another job interview today!

I was debating whether to announce my interview in the blog world, but as Colleen said when she was interviewing for her position this summer, if it’s meant to be, it’s meant to be. And I’m excited about it, so why not spread the excitement :). It’s in the writing field, in a prime location, and it’s full-time. Fingers crossed!

I got up a little earlier this morning, so I wouldn’t feel rushed to get everything done today. For breakfast, I had a nice cold bowl of cereal.

Quaker Oatmeal Squares, walnuts and blueberries went into a bowl of coconut milk.

Well, I must get going if I want to get everything accomplished today. I have my second physical therapy appointment today, and then it’s home to prepare for my interview. Today is also Jordan’s brother’s 21st birthday, so we’re going out with him tonight to celebrate. Should be fun :).

Enjoy your day!

Did you watch the Jaycee Dugard interview?

Do you believe in “jinxing” your interviews, or anything else, by talking about it on your blog before it happens?

 

13 Responses to “Things are looking up”

  1. In Sweetness and In Health July 12, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Aw I’m glad things are looking up for you!

  2. runningismagical July 12, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I didn’t watch the interview, but I think I will have to check it out now!

    Congrats on the job interview! Those make me so nervous, but new opportunities are extra exciting! I don’t believe in ‘jinxing’ – but I do prefer to keep things like that private so that if something awesome happens its a huge surprise to everyone! Keeping my fingers crossed for you 🙂

  3. ihearteggs July 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Glad it’s all looking up!

    … I feel like I jinxed myselfon the blog by mentioning something. ugh. Thankfully it’s HOPEFULLY turning around!

  4. Jess@atasteofconfidence July 12, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Glad you are feeling better! I watched that interview last night. Had me in tears.

  5. mallomar526 July 12, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Congrats on the interview! That is always exciting (and reassuring!), just knowing you are getting yourself out there. I hope it works out! I am still playing the “waiting game” for an interview I had nearly 3 weeks ago– it takes so freakin’ long, doesn’t it?

    Also, we are definitely the same person. Haha.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 12, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      Thank you! I know, it’s a big waiting game…I hope that it works out for you! Maybe try calling or emailing them if you don’t hear back soon? That seems to help sometimes!

      And yes, we are, haha.

  6. Grace July 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I saw bits and pieces of the interview because my boyfriend’s mom had it on, she is so brave but not going to lie I don’t really like hearing about stuff like that. It all gets into my head and leads to scary dreams=/ I don’t think talking about interviews jinxes them…I got lots of encouragement that made me feel great from my readers before my internship interviews! I’ll be thinking about you and have my fingers crossed!

  7. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign July 12, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    I caught some of the coverage on the news last night–what a horrible story! That poor girl…I can’t even imagine what that was like for her!

  8. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I hope the interview went really well! I don’t think blogging about an interview jinxes it, unless you were to be all, “I had an interview today and it went so well I’m shocked they didn’t hire me right then and there!” That might jinx it haha.

  9. Ashley July 13, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Congrats on the job interview!

    With my current job, I actually didn’t tell anyone about it and so it was really fun to call my mom and say, “Hey guess what?!?!?!?!…”. =)

    Plus that way, if I didn’t get it I didn’t have to worry about telling everyone that I didn’t get it, I’d just keep it to myself.

Leave a Reply

