Exercise On Demand

13 Jul

I slept in until 9:30 this morning. This rarely happens, as my body seems to be determined to wake up around 7:00 everyday, despite the fact that I have been out of my school routine for two months now. I must give some credit to my Bucky 40 Blinks Eye Mask. I received it as a gift for Easter, and it does wonders. Even though I actually did wake up around 7:00, as the sunlight started to stream through my blinds and shades, I put my sleep mask to good use and gained an extra two and half hours of sleep. I am one happy girl because of it :).

Lookin’ good 😉

Since I woke up later than usual, I was pretty hungry, leading me to run get downstairs to the kitchen as quickly as I could. I was in a pancakes mood today, and whipped up a quick batch of the whole wheat variety , with the edition of chocolate chips and almond slivers.

With whipped cream on top, of course

After breakfast, I figured it was time to start thinking about working out (as opposed to actually working out?). This is where my new obsession comes into play: Exercise TV on AT&T U-Verse’s On Demand. I didn’t even realize that U-Verse had this little feature until Courtney mentioned it in a blog post, and once I discovered it, I was in exercise heaven.

Exercise TV has over 80 workout options, ranging from Jillian Michael’s 6 Week 6 Pack, to the dance/pilates/yoga inspired workout, Barre3.

Today, I decided to do the Pilates Abs workout. The great thing about all of these options is that they range in length, from 10 minutes to an hour. I can’t do an entire pilates routine right now because my shoulder is still recovering from surgery, but I can do the abs portion. Exercise TV allows me to choose the “Pilates Abs” workout right from the menu, and I was done in 10 minutes.

I plan to tackle some cardio later today on my own, but right now it’s one thing at at time :).

Are you an early bird or a night owl?

Do you have/have you tried Exercise TV?

14 Responses to “Exercise On Demand”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign July 13, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Never tried exercise tv but I enjoy dvds once in awhile!

    I’m an early bird to the max!

  2. runningismagical July 13, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Definitely a night owl, but my schedule forces me to wake up super duper early – I’m still getting used to it!

    I’ve never tried exercise TV – but I’ve tried all sorts of DVDs before. But it seems like a good idea for ab workouts, like a fun way to mix it up!

  3. Scarlett July 13, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I’ve never done exercise DVDs, because I trained as a group exercise instructor and tailor my own “classes” for myself on days I can’t make it to the gym. 🙂

    I’m an early bird AND a night owl…I hate sleeping!

  4. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Early bird for sure! Having said that, I could definitely sleep until 10 or 11, and then go to bed at 9 later that day…I just need a whole lot of sleep. I force myself to get up early most of the time because I get uncomfortable if I feel like I am wasting the day.
    I haven’t done exercises on demand but I bust out workout DVDs from time to time!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      I require a lot of sleep too! And I agree..I feel like I have to make myself get up, otherwise so much of the day feels wasted!

  5. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Early bird FOR SURE. I can stay up late every now and again, but I very rarely do it. I also hate sleeping in beyond like 8:30…ever. I just feel like I waste my whole day doing that, you know?

    And I love Exercise TV! I’ve never actually gotten it on TV, but they have a website with a bunch of long videos that I’ve used multiple times. I really like their yoga videos (or at least the ones I’ve tried).

  6. Jess@atasteofconfidence July 13, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I love exercise on demand. It’s so convenient and has so much!

  7. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) July 13, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Wow I’m so jealous. My body never ever sleeps in and god knows I have been begging it for ages now. Blerg. Like tomorrow when I wake up at 6:30am tired and angry…oh goodie.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 13, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      It’s very rare that I actually sleep that late..I guess my body was craving it! Hope you’re not too tired tomorrow 🙂

  8. squigglefloey July 14, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    Just catching up on your bloggie — congrats on the interview! Hope you rock it 🙂 I had my first interview post grad last week…and unfortunately didn’t get the job 😦 So….gotta keep looking……..
    Anyways, I’m totally a night person.
    But once I hopefully start working and require earlier hours I’m sure things will change

  9. Vanessa July 14, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Night owl. Somehow, I always get this crazy second-wind and end up being much more awake and productive in the evening hours.

  10. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 19, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    i have a weird thing with having anything over my eyes while I sleep. It feels like they’re being suffocated, and I can’t sleep at all…weird, I know:)

Leave a Reply

