I’m not going back

14 Jul

Right now I should be on my way to the second session of my cake decorating class, but… I have decided not go back. I’ll just be blunt- the class was kind of a joke. One hour and 45 minutes were spent discussing how to ice a cake…and about 10 minutes were spent on the actual decorating part. I almost fell asleep. The class just reinforced what I already know about myself- I enjoy baking much more than I do decorating, and I enjoy teaching myself. Now that I have purchased all of the materials, I can teach myself at home.

Wait, scratch that. As it turns out, you have to buy more supplies before the start of every class. So while $22 seemed reasonable for a four session cake decorating class, it actually adds up once you add in the price of the additional supplies every week. So by not going to the class, I’m not losing money, I’m actually saving :).

Instead of going to today’s class, I am ordering sushi and enjoying some time at home. Since my sushi is supposed to be ready in 15 minutes, I must get going. Avocado rolls are calling my name :).

Enjoy your Thursday!

Do you like baking/decorating/both?

Do you like sushi?

 

10 Responses to “I’m not going back”

  1. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All July 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I’m totally with you in that I like baking more than decorating. I’ve never been the most creative person in the world. I would love to learn how to make really good icing/frosting (the thick, sugary kind) because every time I attempt to, it is just liquidy and kind of oozes all over what I’m trying to put it on.

    I looove sushi! It never seems to fill me up, though

  2. Jess@atasteofconfidence July 14, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I definitely like baking more than decorating. I just get so frustrated with decorating, and I think taste matters more to me! haha.

  3. runningismagical July 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I like baking more just because it is so precise. I am not one of those people that can just throw ingredients together! I have to be in the right state of mind to decorate successfully.

    And I LOVE sushi. Spicy Tuna is my favorite!

  4. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Boo I’m sorry that class was a waste of time! it certainly sounds like it to me.
    I enjoy baking much more because of the precision of it as well!
    Sushi= true love for me 🙂 I’m going out tonight for some, super excited!

  5. Hollie @lolzthatswim(andrun) July 14, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Yummo to sushi. I have had a few classes like that that are a waste. Glad you figured it out and decided against going back…wish I could um quit human anatomy,

  6. Grace July 15, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Aw you must have had a horrible teacher! I did the beginning class because even though I was already decorating with fondant I wasn’t great with buttercream. And even though I did know some of the stuff that I was learning my teacher was so sweet and bubbly that she made it fun! Sorry it was a bad experience:( I have recently decided that I like sushi..alot! But no avocado for this girl!

Leave a Reply

