10 Personal Questions

16 Jul

Two days ago, Caitlin answered 10 personal questions for her readers. She got some great responses, and I thought it was a really fun idea. So why not answer the questions myself? Well, since you asked :)…

What do you have on your bedside table?

Lotion, a cup of water, a framed photo of my boyfriend, a desk calendar, a Day-Light Lamp, an iHome remote control, my cell phone, and some pain medication (for my shoulder).

Do you have a tattoo?

No. Sometimes (ya know, when I’m feeling rebellious) I like the idea of getting a tattoo, but it’s just such a big commitment and I’m afraid I’d regret it ten years down the road. Plus, I had an allergic reaction when I got my ears pierced (three different times), so I don’t want to know what would happen if I got a tattoo!

Do you believe in abstinence prior to marriage?

I do believe it is possible to remain abstinent prior to marriage, but I also believe “to each his own.” Everyone is different, so what I believe may not make sense to someone else. With that being said, I think that the media portrays sex too casually, making many people think that casual sex is still healthy. I have seen friends get hurt and relationships broken apart because of it. If a person is in a committed, monogamous, adult relationship, then they are probably mature enough to be safe and smart about it. However, I do not believe that you need to “sleep with kiss a lot of frogs to find your prince”. If you already know he’s a “frog”, kissing, or in this case, sleeping with him, will most likely only make matters more complicated.

What is your worst habit?

Spending too much time online (Twitter, Facebook, blogging), and biting my nails.

How do you handle finances in your relationship? Or, how would you like to handle money in your future relationship?

Right now, the only time Jordan and I really have to think about shared finances is when we go out on dates. Since he has been working full-time for over a year, he normally pays. When I have a job, I would like to contribute more often. In the future, we have talked about having a joint checking and savings account and communicating openly about our finances, especially before making any big purchases.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

I like my name, but I always thought it would be fun if the spelling were more unique, like “Emilee” or “Emilie.” At the same time, since Emily is so common, I sometimes wish I had a name that stood out. My parents considered naming me Kyle (for a girl), and even though that could have been a pain to explain to teachers, I kind of like boy names for girls!

Where do you want to go on your next vacation?

Lately, I’ve been wanting to go to Chicago. The last time I was in downtown Chicago I was there to visit The American Girl Store, which gives you an idea of how long it’s been.

What is one political cause you feel strongly about?

Education. I think it’s really sad how, all across the country, school systems are falling apart, classrooms are overcrowded, good teachers are getting let go, and teachers are not getting paid what they deserve to be paid. Something needs to change.

Have you ever stolen anything?

Besides stealing an outfit from my sister’s closet, no :).

Tell us something embarrassing about yourself.

I’m living at home, so I still have a pile of stuffed animals that sit on my bed. I’m not going to take these with me when I move out someday, but for now, they go back on the bed every time I make it. Promise I don’t still play with them :)!

Okay, now it’s your turn! Answer all, or just a few, of the questions in the comments section!

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “10 Personal Questions”

  1. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 16, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Great idea for a post! I love these sorts of questionnaires, it gives readers a chance to get to know you better 🙂
    I would change my name to Isabella or Annaelise. I think they are both so pretty, but I do like mine too!

  2. scatterbrainjane July 16, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I just did this questionaire on my blog too 🙂 Loved your answers!

  3. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 16, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    When I was much, much littler, I got the American Girl magazine, and once I read an article about a girl named Aimee. From that moment on I always wanted my name to be Aimee. I like my name now, but that lasted for like 10 years.

    Speaking of American Girl and Chicago (in your post): they moved the American Girl store! I discovered that when I lived in Chicago, and it was seriously the most upsetting thing. I felt like part of my childhood memories had been stolen. So not okay.

  4. runningismagical July 17, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    I’m back living at home too…but I will get out soon!!! *Keeping my fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

