Working Girl

19 Jul

18 days ago, I said that I wanted to bring more positivity into my life. How I would go about doing this, I wasn’t exactly sure, but I just had a feeling that good things were to come in the month of July.

Important for me to remember

Then, one week ago today, I landed another job interview (my sixth job interview, to be exact). I went into the interview excited and optimistic. My past five interviews were for jobs unrelated to my B.A. in Communication Studies and required more (or in one instance, less) experience than I have had. I am so glad that I played the waiting game for two months of my summer, because…

Apparently the sixth time’s a charm! Next Monday, I will begin my first full-time job post-college! I am excited, nervous and anxious all at the same time. I will be working in a field that is related to what I went to school for, and I will be writing and involved with social media- which is exactly what I wanted to do after college. So far, my birthday week is turning out wonderfully :).

I am no longer unemployed, I am officially a working girl.

Source

It was the power of positivity, people :).

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

What was your first job post-college?/What would you like yours to be?

25 Responses to “Working Girl”

  1. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean July 19, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    congratulations!!! so happy for you πŸ™‚

  2. notsodomesticated July 19, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Congratulations!! And I love that first sign about faith. It’s absolutely true!

    I had to go to grad school straight after college because I was studying school psychology, and you have to do grad school for that profession. So after grad school, I was able to work right away as a school psychologist. But it helped that I had done a year-long internship with that district, so they already knew that I was good at my job and it was easy to slip in to a full time position. πŸ™‚

    Congrats again!!

  3. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries July 19, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    YAYYY! Congratulations! That’s such great news!

  4. Mila @ loftyappetite July 19, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Congratulations!!! It’s my birthday week too! It’s a good one πŸ˜‰ enjoy it!

  5. Jess July 19, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Congrats!!! I am so glad for you! I hope to hear more details!

  6. runningismagical July 19, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    WOOHOO! Congrats! It’s such a great feeling!

    I’m actually still at the same job that I go first out of college – and I can’t even remember how many interviews I went to. Probably too many. But it was difficult to not only find a place that wants to hire you, but a place that also is a good fit for YOU. Can’t wait to hear more about your first post college job experiences!

  7. Mel (mmmstories) July 19, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    CONGRATS CONGRATS!! what an exciting feeling and I’m sure it’ll be worth the wait to do something you’re looking forward to doing.

    I’m looking for my 2nd job post-grad and its certainly a struggle working and job hunting at the same time. Looking forward to hearing about the gig once you start!

  8. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All July 19, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Congratulations!! A great accomplishment! Even better that it’s something you’re interested in!!!

    I have a second-round interview tomorrow for a medical research company. I am nervous for more than one reason- not only do I love it, but if I get it, I will have to move to Worcester (2.5 hours away from my boyfriend). Major decisions will have to be made… 😦

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 20, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      Good luck! Those big decisions are always difficult. Listen to your heart and your gut…I’m sure you’ll figure out what’s best for you :). You don’t want to have any regrets in the future!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 19, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Congrats and welcome to the working world πŸ™‚

    What is your next move?

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      Thank you! My first day is next Monday. Luckily it’s within driving distance from where I currently live, so I just have to get organized so I’m prepared for a new routine, and that’s about it!

  10. Kelly July 19, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Congratulations! I love reading about college grads landing jobs πŸ™‚ I graduated with a communications degree as well, and found it so difficult to go on interviews that didn’t really allow me to highlight the communications experience I worked my butt off for four years for! Everything works out in the end!

  11. Katie July 19, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Congartulations!! I hope it will be that easy for me when I finish my course!

  12. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 19, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Congrats!! That’s so exciting! I’m glad the waiting paid off for you, and I can’t wait to hear all about it πŸ™‚

  13. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 19, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Congratulations on landing a job!! I’m sure it’s a lot of worry & stress off your shoulders:) Love the quotes, especially about faith in timing. Very true, and hard to remember:) Congrats girl!

  14. Morgan @ Endorphaholic July 19, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Congratulations, that is so exciting!!

  15. Sweet and Savvy July 19, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Congratulations!! This is such an exciting thing! A Little and patience goes a longgggg way. πŸ™‚

  16. squigglefloey July 20, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    Omgahhh girl! SO Happy for you! This post gives me hope haha. If I can find a job within two months I’ll be sooo happy!
    Do you have any recommendations of where to job search? I’ve just been looking at sites like monster/indeed, etc. It feels so impersonal!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 20, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      I’m sure you will be able to! I used Indeed.com a lot- but I really didn’t get any interviews that way. I would recommend setting up a LinkedIn account, because that’s a great networking tool. I ended up finding this job opening (the one I accepted) on my college’s job search website for students and alumni. I would definitely suggest checking to see if your school has one, because I found my previous internship that way, as well! Good luck!!

      • squigglefloey July 21, 2011 at 12:12 am #

        Thank you!! πŸ™‚
        Yeah, I looked up at my school’s website and we have to pay $20 as alumni to use their job search engine (ugh). haha, it might come to that! Thank you though! Congrats again!

  17. Courtney July 20, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Congrats!! My first job is the job I’m in and it’s a mix of office managing and advertising management. It’s not what I want in the long run, but it’s what I want now. πŸ™‚

  18. Brittany @ LessBritt MoreLife July 23, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Yayyy!!!!!!! So excited for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

