Bye bye clutter

20 Jul

Instead of laying out in the sun today, I opted for clearing out some clutter. Literally and figuratively. First, I tackled my closet. I found some pretty interesting things in there.

Like my high school letter jacket,

my homecoming dress…from sophomore year of high school,

and four of Jordan’s hoodies.

Call me crazy, but I still can’t bear to part with the first two items. I feel like I earned my letter jacket (plus I feel bad that my parents paid a ridiculous amount for some purple leather), and I like the combo of pink and polka dots too much to let go of the dress.  As far as Jordan’s hoodies go, well, guy’s clothes take up a lot of space in a closet, and he might want those back come winter. I didn’t realize I had so many of them!

Besides that, I was able to get rid of a decent amount of clothing.

How long have jean jackets been out of style? And why did I have so many homecoming dresses in my closet? (see red tulle above). Who knows, but everything is packed up and on its way to AMVETS as we speak I type.

I’m convinced that I need a bigger closet, because it still looks pretty crowded in there, despite giving away a full garbage bag of clothes.

Oh well, I’ll put a walk-in on my wish list when I move out ;).

I was on a clutter clearing roll after spending over an hour on my closet, so I decided to go through my Facebook friends and delete the people I have not talked to in months. When I was done, nearly 100 people were no longer my “friend.” I must say, it feels pretty darn good. Why was I “friends” with people I haven’t spoken to since middle school? Why was I friends with my ex-boyfriend’s sister, and my guy friend’s ex-girlfriend? Yeah, I don’t really know either.

What I do know, is that my mind feels much less cluttered now. With an organized closet, and an organized Facebook, everything’s good :).

How often do you clean out your closet?

How often do you “spruce up” your list of Facebook friends?

 

4 Responses to “Bye bye clutter”

  1. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 20, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I purge my closet every so often… a few times a year at least. Its great to get rid of stuff you never wear and make room for new items
    And defriending people on FB is necessary… I had countless people on my “friend” list that I didn’t even know!

  2. runningismagical July 21, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I try to do it ‘seasonally’ (I live in Southern California, not very season-y). So just before the fall starts, or when it gets really rainy, etc. I figure its a good time to reorganize and toss anything that is just a waste of space. I probably do it more than most people do, but it’s something I actually enjoy!

    And I almost never edit my Facebook friends, but you have now inspired me to do so 🙂

  3. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I still have my jean jacket at the back of my closet too… it’s too big on me now.

  4. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 23, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    I’m the worst closet-cleaner-outer ever. I develop such a ridiculous emotional attachment to clothes that I just cannot get rid of things unless I really despise them. I counted a couple of weeks ago: I own 49 wearable t-shirts. Note that those are the wearable ones, not the retired ones that sit on the floor of my closet. There is so much wrong with that picture.

Leave a Reply

