The girl with a big lunchbox

20 Jul

Thank you all so much for your kind comments and congratulations on yesterday’s post! It’s still hard for me to believe that my job search is over! I received a few questions about the details of my job and how I found it. While I’d prefer to keep most of the job details out of my blog for privacy reasons, I don’t mind sharing how I went about finding it. Job searching can be a scary, confusing, emotional process, and it really is difficult to know where to begin! I will write about my method of job searching sometime in the near future :)- hopefully it will help some of you who are also in the process of landing a job!

*    *    *    *

My new job begins on Monday, so I still have a few days to prepare myself for the transition that will occur in my current (non-existent) routine. Luckily, the job is within driving distance of where I currently live, so no move is required. I’m actually feeling pretty fortunate to continue living at home for now, because my student loan payments will be starting up soon, and I’m pretty sure there’s no way I would be able to afford to live on my own with my entry-level rate of pay. A girl’s gotta start somewhere :).

Yesterday, I began my day at a reasonable time, wanting to get used to getting back into a routine. After a quick 30 minutes on the ArcTrainer,

I went home and got ready to meet my dad for lunch. We talked about “grown-up stuff” like budgets and qualifying for loans, over Mexican food, and then I had a few pre-employment errands to run.

I don’t know why, but one of my biggest worries is being stuck at a new workplace without enough food or water. It may sound silly, but every company does their lunch breaks differently, and I am not the type of person that can go five or six hours without eating. At my previous internship, I didn’t work enough hours to have a lunch break, so I would be extremely hangry by the time I left. With this job, I want to be prepared. Even if I am known as “the girl with the big lunchbox”…

This led me to Target, where I stood in the sporting goods aisle for about 20 minutes trying to pick one out. I wanted to opt for the cute, compact one that didn’t scream “Yes, I’m a nerd” and probably only fit one piece of fruit, maybe half a sandwich- but then decided that I was only kidding myself. I put that one away and chose the one that basically pops up into a mini-cooler, complete with full insulation and room for an extra water bottle.

 I also picked up a couple of Nalgene water bottles (because how could I pass up the two for $10 deal?), and then made my way over to T.J. Maxx, where I spent way too much time browsing through the workout clothes, bags and shoes. I was proud of myself for walking out of the store with only one item- a pair of spandex running shorts on sale for $7.99. Don’t mind the fact that I am still not allowed to run right now– I just love a good deal.

At the end of my shopping trip, my shoulder was throbbing (a sign that I had browsed for a little too long), and the 100-something heat index had me craving something cold. Although I very rarely eat fast food, a peach shake from Chik-fil-A was calling my name. Darn advertisements. Rather than ignore my craving only to go home and mindlessly eat handfuls of chocolate chips (which, of course, is what would have happened), I decided to give into it.

And I’m soo glad that I did. They claim that their shakes are hand-dipped (which actually makes me feel less guily about it?), and sure enough, it was thick, creamy, and the huge chunks of peaches barely fit through my straw as I sipped away. It was a nice treat, but Chik-Fil-A is a good 20 minute drive from my house, so I won’t be tempted to go back there anytime soon :).

Next up on my to-do list: cleaning out my closet and doing a couple of loads of laundry. Although, the sun just came out, so laying out with a good book is very tempting right now :). We shall see what I end up doing! Enjoy your Wednesday!

Do you bring your lunch to work (or school)?

How do you make sure that you drink enough water throughout the day? I don’t like unfiltered tap water (I know, I know), so I usually bring a couple of water bottles from home. 48 0z. should last me through the work day if I’m inside.

13 Responses to “The girl with a big lunchbox”

  1. In Sweetness and In Health July 20, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Yay, congrats on the job!!! When I’ve had summer jobs I definitely brought my food, and I bring my food to school when I know I won’t have enough time to go home between classes! I love lunchboxes :).

  2. Courtney July 20, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I bring my lunch 90% of the time to work and just keep my gigantic lunch bag in a drawer in my office. I also have a filtered water bottle that I freeze overnight and drink throughout the day, refilling as necessary. πŸ™‚

  3. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All July 20, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    When I start my job, I will definitely be packing a lunch! A great way to save money & be healthy at the same time!

    I am the WORST at remembering to drink enough water. I am seriously never thirsty unless I workout. Even then, I’m never DYING to drink something. It’s kind of a problem. But I’m getting better– sipping some H20 right now! πŸ™‚

  4. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 20, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Congrats again on the job! That is so exciting and must be a relief πŸ™‚ Yumm that drink sounds delish, perfect for a hot as heck day like it’s been here!
    I actually really need to work on drinking more water… it’s a serious goal of mine, I barely ever drink water as a matter of fact 😦

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 20, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Thank you! Once you start drinking more water, it’ll probably be easier for you to drink more throughout the day. I feel like I’m addicted to it!

  5. notsodomesticated July 20, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I can’t go more than a few hours without eating either, so this is always a concern for me! On work days, I usually start my morning at home with a good breakfast… typically PB and banana on whole wheat toast and coffee with milk. Then throughout my morning at work, I usually have a couple of snacks… yogurt, almonds, fruit, or granola bars. I usually have lunch early… by 11:30 (because my breakfast is around 6am). Lunch is usually a sandwich, leftovers from dinner, or a turkey sandwich and veggies. I’ll also bring a couple of pieces of Dove chocolate. Then when I get home in the afternoon (around 4-4:30), if need be, I’ll have a small snack before dinner.

    Small meals, spaced throughout the day. That’s what works best for me. πŸ™‚

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 20, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Thank you for all of the great ideas! I always brought a couple of pieces of Dove chocolate when I brought my lunch on campus during college!

  6. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 20, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I live three minutes from work and I can go home for lunch πŸ™‚

  7. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 23, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Right now my job requires me to bring a lunch to work every day, so obviously I’m brown-baggin’ it five days a week (or rather, pink-baggin’ it in the same lunch bag I’ve been using since…eighth grade? Something like that). At my internship, though, I always brought my lunch with me. It was boring and a hassle (packing a lunch has got to be on my list of Top 5 Things I Hate Doing Routinely), but I’m sure it saved me sooo much money in the end.

Leave a Reply

