23 years

22 Jul

23 years ago, a 7lb. 6oz. baby girl was born into this world. She had fair skin, blue eyes, strawberry blonde hair, and quite a loud cry (or so I’ve heard) . Can you guess who that little girl was ;)?

In 23 years, I’ve learned a lot. I’ve had my ups, I’ve had my downs. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve screamed, I’ve lied (I just wanted to make that rhyme).

I’m grateful to be celebrating another birthday, but before this morning’s festivities begin (aka before I make my way to my PT appointment), I thought I would share with you…

23 things I’ve learned in 23 years

1.  It’s better to be yourself than to look like a fool trying to be someone else.

2. Dating a football player in real life is not like dating a football player in the movies.

3. If you want an honest opinion, ask your 11-year-old neighbor.

4. The guy honking at you from the semi-truck isn’t trying to ask for directions.

5. “High school drama” doesn’t only occur in high school.

6. Quality > Quantity.

7. It’s okay to say “no.”

8. Hair can be a girl’s best accessory. Or her worst.

9. Don’t forget to thank Mom and Dad. Thank them often.

11. You’ll still get a tan if you use the SPF 30. Use it.

12. If you go on a date with a guy who refers to himself in the third person, just walk away. No… run.

13. The bond between sisters is unbreakable. No matter how often you argue, tease or fight.

14. I was not meant to play team sports. Never was, never will be.

15. Sometimes it’s nice to have a good cry. For no reason, or for any reason at all.

16. Crimped hair was never very fashionable. Same goes for curled bangs.

17. Once you try a memory foam mattress topper, you’ll never want to go back.

18. Friends will come and go. Let them.

19. If your boyfriend is the type of guy who lends you his sleeve when you can’t find any Kleenex, keep him. Forever.

20. Just because you go away to college doesn’t mean it’s okay to leave your morals at home. Do take them.

21. A little bit of positivity can go a long way.

22. Despite what professors say, cramming the night before an exam does work (most of the time).

23.  Don’t follow the crowd. Surprise people. Make them think. Being different does not have to be a bad thing.

Source

–     –     –     –     –     –

Alright, it’s time for me to get going.  Enjoy your Friday and stay cool in this heat!

14 Responses to “23 years”

  1. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 22, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Happy Birthday!
    I really like all of the things you have learned… I can relate to so many. Enjoy yourself this weekend 🙂

  2. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All July 22, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Happy Birthday, Emily!!! I hope you have an amazing day!

    I absolutely loved this list. I especially loved 3 (kids are the most honest people in the world) and 5 (I never had high school drama! The drama ensued when I began college, unfortunately.)

    Yay 23!

  3. cupcake dynamite July 22, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 23 is a great age. 😉 and i love that list. I needed the crimped hair + bangs memo too.

    xo courtney

  4. Jess July 22, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Happy birthday!

  5. Karolina @ CounselorMusings July 22, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Happy Birthday-I hope it’s a great one leading into a fantastic new year of your life! Being 23 was really great and fun for me, and I hope it will be for you as well!

  6. Dawn July 22, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Happy Birthday! I hope you had a great day!.

  7. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign July 22, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Happy birthday! I hope you had a great day!

  8. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions July 23, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Happy birthday!! Hope you had such a fabulous day! Loved the 23 things you’ve learned in 23 years, too. That was really cool to read.

  9. jamie@cupcakedynamite July 23, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Happy birthday!! You and your sisters are so pretty!! Totally agree on the crimped hair…bahahaha. 23 is a good age 🙂

  10. Grace July 23, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Happy Birthday! Love your lessons:)

  11. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 24, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Happy belated birthday! Your lessons are great. I’m the same way with team sports….not for me! I love number 7 🙂

Leave a Reply

