Birthday recap

24 Jul

Thank you for all of the birthday wishes! It seems like it’s been days since my actual birthday on Friday. I have been busy busy busy celebrating with my family and Jordan. Even though I told them not to, I feel like they spoiled me this year :).

Friday

I began my morning with How Sweet’s whole wheat brown sugar banana bread pancakes. I divided the recipe by three, making a single serving for myself. Now, normally I am not a huge fan of bananas, but these pancakes were the best I’ve had in a very long time.

I don’t need a special occasion to make these again in the future. I’m thinking they could become a weekend tradition now that I will be working :).

After breakfast and some doctor’s appointments for my shoulder, I headed to the mall to meet my sisters. I knew that they were planning to take me out to lunch, but I wasn’t sure of all of the details.

We ended up at The Cheesecake Factory, which is conveniently connected to the mall. Since I was still a little full from my pancake breakfast, I didn’t want to get anything too heavy. My sisters and I all decided to order from the small plates section of the menu, where we could try a couple of dishes, all with reasonable portions and prices.

I ordered the wild mushroom pizzette and an arugula salad. We ate until we could eat no more, and then we headed into the mall for a little shopping. We didn’t order any cheesecake, because we had other plans in mind ;).

A fro-yo place was conveniently located on our way home, so we stopped in and helped ourselves to the yummy self-serve. I went with a combo of vanilla, chocolate and coconut fro-yo, topped with chocolate chips, sprinkles, coconut, and cookie dough. It was the perfect afternoon birthday treat.

Before we knew it, the afternoon had passed us by, and I had to get home to get ready for my date with Jordan. He surprised me with a steak dinner, downtown at St.Elmo’s.

After we finished our entrees, the waiter told me I could choose anything I wanted from the dessert menu since it was my birthday. I was stuffed from the day’s eats, but could never turn down a free dessert, and knew that Jordan would be more than happy to share.

I chose the cheesecake, and it was delicious. There were no embarrassing birthday tunes involved, but I did get to make a wish on a pretty pink candle :).

Saturday

The festivities continued on Saturday, when I celebrated with my family at home. My mom made one my favorites, kabobs with lots of veggies, chicken and steak, along with homemade side dishes. My dad was kind enough to barbecue the food outside in the 100-something degree heat, and since it was my birthday, everyone put on a fake smile when I said that I wanted to eat outside (we had a fan and everyone survived the heat, although my hair did not).

We ended the night with cake and ice cream (inside).

Sunday

After nearly a month long drought, it finally rained today! This altered my plans to go swimming, but allowed Jordan and I to spend some time together, relaxing and watching movies after church.

As far as tomorrow goes, well, it’s a big day for me…the first day on the job! My nerves are kicking in… I feel like a kid anticipating the first day of school! Everyone keeps telling me that it’s normal to be nervous, and they’d be more worried if I wasn’t. Wanting to be prepared, my water bottles are filled and being chilled, I have my lunch items picked out, and an idea of what I will wear. I’m not really sure how I’m going to handle this whole getting back into a routine thing- we shall see how this week goes!

No more staying up late for me, I’ve got to be up for work in the morning. Good night!

6 Responses to “Birthday recap”

  1. Jess July 24, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Glad you had a good bday! I really want to make those pancakes.

  2. squigglefloey July 25, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Happy Birthday girl! What a wonderful way to celebrate with your first job tomorrow as well! 🙂 Best of luck!!

  3. Tessa at Amazing Asset July 25, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Aww yay I am so glad you had a fantastic birthday! All of your eats look rather good 🙂 Mmm cakeeee

Leave a Reply

