A day in the life of the newly employed

3 Aug

Clearly, I am a little slow at adapting to change. This remains true when switching from an unemployed recent college grad who can sleep in until 9:00 and stay in her pajamas all day, to a full-time employed, responsible “grown up.” (Except I don’t think real grown ups actually call themselves “grown ups.”)

Source

I have had a hard time adjusting to my new schedule. I’ve barely blogged in over a week, my dry erase board calendar still reads ‘July,’ and I haven’t changed my sheets in nearly two weeks (did I really just tell you that?).

The good thing is, I think I’m actually beginning to get the hang of this whole “being a responsible adult” thing. With a little trial and error, I’m figuring out what works for me. Here’s what my typical day looks like (Well, for now, at least.  I’ve only been working for 7 days):

6:10am-7:30am Wake up, get ready, eat breakfast, pack lunch, browse online if there’s time

7:30am-8:15am Commute to work

8:15am-1:00pm Work, work, meetings, work

1:00pm-1:15pm Take a walk outside (My body does not like sitting for 8 hours!)

1:15pm-4:30pm Eat lunch at my desk, work some more

4:30pm-5:15pm Commute back home

5:15pm-5:45pm Eat a small snack, rest

5:45pm-6:45pm Gym time

6:45pm-8:00pm Shower, eat dinner

8:00pm-10:00pm Hang out with Jordan, catch up on emails, blog-if there’s time

10:00pm Bed

Thankfully, my employer is extremely flexible with my hours. As long as I’m there before our morning meeting, I’m good to go. I like to get there early though (most people arrive an hour after I do), so I can get my stuff done and beat rush hour on the way home. I’ve also been eating lunch at my desk. I figure I might as well be productive while I eat. However, when my shoulder started hurting from sitting for such a long time throughout the day, I decided to take a 15 minute walking break at lunch to stretch out a little. I plan to keep this up as long as it’s nice outside :).

My walking path

So, that is what I have been up to. I have also become affectionately known as the girl with the heated blanket (I’m always freezing- I keep it at my desk so I’ll be more comfortable!), and the girl with the special keyboard (I put it on a lap desk so my shoulder isn’t strained). It’s really great to go into your first job sounding all high maintenance and everything ;).

I’m sure, in time, I’ll figure out which routine works best for me. In the mean time, I will just keep going with the flow- such an easy thing for a girl who is not Type A at all ;).

With that being said, I am off to go to work. Have a great Wednesday!

How did you adjust to your first full-time job after college?

Are you good at balancing your ‘real life’ and blogging?

 

 

5 Responses to “A day in the life of the newly employed”

  1. Hollie @lolzthatswim(andrun) August 3, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Wow you are so busy girl! I have missed reading your blogs. I normally eat at my computer as well so I can get things done. That is nice about beating the rush. I think I would want to do that too actually.

  2. e@thisnotedlife August 3, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    i loved my first job post college!! Now I’m adjusting because after i got my first job, i got married and moved away then i couldn’t find a job for 10 months so now, like you, im learning to get back in to the swing of things. Balance is tricky (and i blog at work :-O) Hope my boss doesn’t find out eek!

  3. Grace August 3, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I’m okay with balancing blogging but I always put real life before blogging:)

  4. runningismagical August 3, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I went through what you’re going through – its a lot of trial and error and finding what works for you. Luckily, I am a night owl and by nature can stay up till about 11 ish which gives me extra time.

    Blogging is my late night hobby…I’m usually lounging in bed or catching up on poison reality TV while I type away! It helps to plan it all out in advance 🙂

  5. squigglefloey August 3, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Call me crazy, but I cannot wait until I have a set employed schedule. I love routine and consistency haha.

Leave a Reply

