A Holiday Weekend

9 Aug

Last weekend was a first for me and Jordan. We took our first weekend road trip. Alone. This may seem like nothing for a couple who’s been dating for 2 years and 7 months, but all of our vacations have been with our families up until this point. I was excited just to have him to myself during a peaceful car ride without any interruptions. The weekend turned out as great as I hoped it would be!

We started our trip on Saturday afternoon. After making a quick stop at Subway and a trip to the bank, we were on our way.

See that field in the background? That’s what most of our drive looked like. It was actually quite peaceful. Once we got off of the expressway and onto the country roads, there were no cars on the road, or busy traffic to worry about.

Three hours, one bathroom break and a hotel check-in later, we arrived at our destination- my friends’ bachelor/bachelorette party. They decided to have a combined party because they aren’t into the whole bar/club thing. Jordan and I ended up having a really good time. Of course, I forgot my camera to document the occasion, but it included a cookout, lots of chatting, cornhole, and a very long round of ”The Newlywed Game.” I am a bridesmaid in the wedding, so I helped run the game, and Jordan and I got to play. We were asked questions like, “A perfect husband does ___” or “What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever bought for your [future] spouse?” Jordan and I didn’t win, but it was interesting to hear everyone’s answers!

Before we knew it, it was nearly midnight, and Jordan and I had to get to sleep. We had a big day planned in the morning.

Around 10:00am, we left for another half an hour drive and arrived at…

Holiday World! Holiday World is an amusement park in Santa Claus, IN. While the amusement park holds one of the largest wooden rollercoasters in the country, we were actually there for the water park, Splashin’ Safari.

Both attractions are included in the admission price, but I am more of a water park person, and it was expected to be 95 degrees outside. We spent the day going down water slides, floating in the lazy river, and eating typical amusement park food (chicken fingers and soft serve ice cream). Best of all, we got to spend quality time together. It’s very rare for us to spend a whole day together, and I couldn’t believe how much more I learned about Jordan just from the day’s conversations.

Around 5:30, we changed out of our suits, packed up the car, and headed the 3 1/2 hours home. Needless to say, after spending the weekend in the car, staying up late, basking in the sun, and walking around a water park, I was exhausted by the time I reached my doorstep.

I’m not really sure how I’ve made it through the work week thus far. I’m still catching up on sleep. Luckily, Starbucks is literally right next door to where I work. I made sure to make a trip over there yesterday before I ate the lunch that I packed.

A soy coffee frappuccino was my friend for the afternoon :).

Even though it’s now Tuesday evening, I am still exhausted. I just got back from the gym and finished eating dinner, so I think it’s time for me to get in bed and read.

I hope you are all enjoying your week!

Have you ever taken a trip with your significant other?

Do you like water parks or amusement parks better? I definitely enjoy water parks a lot more…I’m scared of rollercoasters!

6 Responses to “A Holiday Weekend”

  1. Hollie @lolzthatswim(andrun) August 9, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Awe that looks like so much fun. I’m glad you had such a great time. I actually went on a cruise with Aram, and it was a lot of fun. I enjoy water parks much more in the summer-it just becomes way to hot for regular amusement parks. The fall and Spring though amusement parks are a lot of fun too.

  2. Jess August 9, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Looks like a great time! I love road tripping with my boyfriend. Definitely makes us closer!

  3. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All August 10, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    I’m glad you had such a great time! My boyfriend of 3 yrs has a house in Vermont which we’ve traveled to on numerous occasions. We also have been on spring break trips together (twice in Florida).

    I’m with you on the rollercoasters. Not a fan..but I do love waterparks!

    PS your boyfriend’s profile looks scarily similar to my boyfriend’s profile..i swear i’ve taken that same photo of him driving on one of our trips together, same shirt and everything. He was even looking at my computer in the corner of his eye as I read your post and thought it was him/my blog! Too funny.

Leave a Reply

