The weird girl

10 Aug

Every Wednesday, I tell myself that I’m going to do a ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ post. And every Wednesday, I forget to document what I eat. I know it’s not really that difficult to remember, but this week was no different. I managed to document breakfast and lunch, but I was in the hurry and the pictures didn’t turn out very well. Then, I didn’t even bother to document dinner because I went out with people from work. Not all of them know about the blog. And I’m already kind of the “weird girl” at work (I think, at least).

Let me explain. During my first week of work, my shoulder was hurting so bad,  that I had to bring in my cryo/cuff for a little relief from the pain. My body wasn’t, and still isn’t, used to sitting for eight hours a day, and having surgery six weeks ago hasn’t helped the matter at all.

Kind of a lifesaver

My boss noticed it sitting on my desk, and immediately called in HR to get me a different type of seating arrangement (the angle of the keyboard was straining my arm). HR bought me a lap desk for my keyboard, and the problem was solved. Totally sweet of my boss, but completely high maintenance of me.

Then, I quickly realized that they like to keep the office at what feels like 32 degrees. I am naturally always cold, so when I am sitting still and the temperature is uncomfortably cool, it feels like torture. Of course, I brought in a blanket. But when I brought in a regular blanket I realized I still wasn’t warm enough. So, I brought in a heated blanket. Now I’m the girl with the cryo/cuff, the lap desk, and the heated blanket. Oh yeah. And the big lunchbox.

And big water bottles. (But not little hot pants. I don’t wear those to work.)

I also get up every hour to walk around and stretch (physical therapist’s orders), go to the bathroom just as often because I drink so much water (see big water bottles above), and sometimes I accidentally start humming Taylor Swift tunes aloud while I’m listening to her music for work. (I’m a music writer. Really. I get to listen to it for work.)

You can see why everyone at work would want to be my friend ;). I obviously like to make a grand entrance when I start a new job.

But you would be want to be my friend, wouldn’t you :)?

What makes you “weird”?

Do you find “weird” people more interesting?

8 Responses to “The weird girl”

  1. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All August 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I admire you for being true to what you and your body need at your office! You should never have to compromise how you feel physically for a job!

    I’m totally “weird” in many regards. For instance, sometimes I put salt on green apples (not red). I’ll just say it…that is weird.

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign August 10, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Hahaha I love this post. And y your lunch box is so cute! What do you do as a music writer? Write reviews and things? That sounds so neat!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      I write about current things that are going on in the news, related to music…and I write about what’s trending on Twitter and other social media sites. I will do a post on it sometime!

  3. runningismagical August 11, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    Of course I’d want to be your friend! I’d be asking you all sorts of questions about all your special gadgets.

    I’m the odd gal out – I’m the youngest female there and I think they like hearing about my odd, ‘young people’ weekends. I also sit at my desk with a snuggie sometimes because my office is the freaking arctic too!!!

  4. Karolina August 11, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    I love this post:) if it makes you feel better, I run up and down stairs at work to move in between clients, and I keep a blanket at wirk all the time. If it helps me to be better at what I do, then why not do it? 🙂

  5. Tessa at Amazing Asset August 11, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    Aww I loved this post and I would definitely want to be your friend ha
    You have to listen to what your body needs, no matter where you are 🙂

  6. Hollie @lolzthatswim(andrun) August 11, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    I find weird people interesting because it makes me feel better. I seriously do believe I am one of the strangest people in the world. I’m glad to hear your arm is getting better though! 🙂

  7. sara @ the foodie diaries August 12, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    I feel like being weird makes us unique. People think my best friends and I are weird when we’re together, but that’s what we love about each other 🙂

Leave a Reply

