Why Do You Workout?

25 Aug

When I was at the gym this morning (my first morning workout since starting my job 4 weeks ago- wooo!), spacing out on the ArcTrainer, I overheard the two women next to me joking about how hard it is to get up and workout in the morning (my ears perked up because I obviously agreed). One woman said that if she didn’t like to eat so much, then she wouldn’t need to get up and go to the gym. The other responded with, “Yeah, if it weren’t for pasta and bread…” Their convo was all in good fun (and I shouldn’t have been listening anyway), but it really made me think about why I choose to workout. Is it for my health, a better body, both?

Source

Here’s what I came up with. I workout,

1. For A Stronger Body

My core feels stronger after pilates, my legs feel stronger after I run, and my arms feel stronger after a good Body Toning class. When I feel strong, I feel better prepared to face the day.

2. For Stress Relief

When I exercise, I let go of negative emotions. Whether I’m punching the air in a kickboxing class, or stomping out bad feelings as I pound the pavement, a good workout makes me feel better.

3. For My Heart

I love cardio. I especially love that it’s good for my heart. I also love that it’s good for my brain. My mind clears and my mood lifts every time I hit the gym.

4. For My Waistline

Okay, so I am a little guilty of participating in discussions much like the one the women I overheard at the gym were having. If I eat a little too much ice cream or pizza on Friday night, I will most likely go to the gym on Saturday morning. This is not the main reason I workout though. I workout regardless of what I eat, and I try my best not not overdo it. 30 minutes to an hour is all it takes for me to get my adrenaline pumping, and I always make sure to eat properly before or after I go.

Would you like some cereal with those berries?

5. For My Children (err, future children)

Okay, this might sound a little silly, considering I’m not pregnant. Or married. Or considering either of those two things in the near future. But, I do know that the healthier I am now, the healthier I will be when I do decide to have children. I also think it’s important for me to get into a good routine now so I can be a good role model for my future family. When I was little, my mom and dad always worked out. My sisters and I would look forward doing step aerobics alongside my mom- it was fun for us. I think that’s why I’ve never seen it as a chore. It was fun for me then, and it’s still fun for me now. I enjoy it.

I do not exercise to lose weight or to attain an unrealistic figure. I have come to terms with the fact that we are all built differently. My abs may never look like that girl in the photo above. My bathing suit top will always be smaller than my bathing suit bottoms. My arms will always be the most difficult body part for me to tone. The thing is, I’m okay with that. That’s what makes me, me.

Source

The photo above gives one more reason why I exercise. Why do you?

7 Responses to “Why Do You Workout?”

  1. Karolina @ CounselorMusings August 25, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Awesome reasons, and my reasons are pretty similar to yours as well. I think physical fitness fits in with an overall healthy and well life, and I choose to be healthy.

  2. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All August 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I workout because it always boosts my mood and really does serve as an instant pick-me-up. I also workout because I really love to eat, not going to lie! I love how it makes me feel, and it helps me sleep better. I would seriously go into a weird funk, I think, if I didn’t work out!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 26, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      I know I always get into a funk if I don’t workout! That’s why I make sure to do some kind of exercise even if I’m on vacation or out of my normal routine.

  3. In Sweetness and In Health August 26, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I love to exercise because of the way it makes me feel when I’m done! Also for my overall health, to feel strong, and to stay fit 🙂

  4. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions August 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I definitely work out for stress relief. That’s not the only reason I work out, of course, but especially in running I’ve found that I feel SO much better about life after a decently long run than I felt when I started on super stressful days. It’s great.

  5. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats August 31, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I started working out for all the wrong reasons and eventually injured myself! Since I was deprived of running while injured, I realized what a great stress reliever it is! (especially since I’m in law school!). Now I workout because it makes me feel good and it’s FUN. If it’s not fun, it’s not happening.

Leave a Reply

