Impromptu Date at Orange Leaf

1 Sep

Last night, I had planned to workout. I had planned to blog. I had planned to do laundry. Thank goodness plans can be changed, because as I made the 45 minute drive home, none of that sounded even a little bit appealing. I just wanted to take a break.

After getting caught up with the Kardashians for an hour, and eating breakfast for dinner (again), Jordan called to ask if I wanted to go for a walk. Since I had already decided I wouldn’t be making it to the gym, I jumped at the chance for a little one on one time and some exercise. 35 minutes of walking and talking later, we found ourselves back at home, walking around the house restlessly. That’s when I spotted the county paper on the counter, and a headline that included two words that any tired, hormonal girl is more than excited to read. Frozen. Yogurt.

I quickly flipped to the article on page B7 (oh yes, I remember the page), and was pleasantly surprised to find out that a new fro-yo place just opened about 15 minutes away from my house. A wonderful surprise, considering the other ones are a good 35-40 minute drive away. I quickly told Jordan the good news, we took one look at the each other, and before I knew it, he was grabbing his keys and telling me that it’d be good for us to get more fresh air. He knows me too well.

Fifteen or so minutes later, we were pulling into the parking lot of Orange Leaf. Although I had never heard of it (prior to last night), it is a self-serve frozen yogurt franchise that originated in Oklahoma.

Did I mention this was a late night (for the work week, anyway) fro-yo run? As we were running out the door, my parents mentioned we should call to make sure they were still open. I had faith. They’re open until 10pm on weeknights, and we made just in time.

With over a dozen fro-yo flavors, and 40 different topping choices, creating the perfect combo was quite the time consuming process. Luckily, my eyes are as big as the paper cups we had to work with. And since this was our first time going there, I wanted to make sure I tried a little bit of everything. A girl’s gotta test it out, ya know?

Can you guess which one is mine? (Chocoholic over here…) I mixed coconut, chocolate and brownie batter fro-yo, and added a bunch of random chocolaty toppings, plus shredded coconut and sprinkles, on top. Jordan topped chocolate and vanilla fro-yo with a little bit of fruit and nuts. To each his own, I say.

3/4 of a pound of fro-yo later (yes, I filled that cup to the brim), I was one happy girl.

I ‘m really not that creepy or pale in real life…

I may or may not have caught Jordan licking up a spot of fro-yo off of his shirt when it spilled. I’d say he enjoyed it too.

All in all, it was a perfect surprise mid-week date night. I’m thinking it needs to be a new tradition in my life…especially now that we have an Orange Leaf punch card. Buy 10 get 1 free is a goal I’d like to accomplish ;).

Alright, now that I’ve successfully made myself hungry for fro-yo at 7am in the morning, I must eat breakfast (not fro-yo) and go to work. Have a wonderful day!

Do you ever have impromptu dates, with your friends or significant other, during the work/school week?

How often do you frequent your nearest fro-yo location?

13 Responses to “Impromptu Date at Orange Leaf”

  1. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All September 1, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    oooh fun! i love froyo! where i’m from, at home, there’s one that i could literally walk to..but everything is so expensive in southwestern CT. they charge 60 cents PER OUNCE! Yikes. and i always get at least 10 ounces!
    Glad you found a good one! I don’t think there are any nearby around here, but I could be wrong…

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 1, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

      Wow, that is expensive! This place charged 45 cents an ounce. It can still add up, but it’s not as bad as 60!

  2. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 1, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I LOVE fro-yo! I actually haven’t been to a fro-yo place since I was home a few weeks ago but I can’t stop thinking about it! It’s got to happen this weekend. Glad you have a good one nearby now! My goal is try out all the different places in Chicago!

  3. sara @ the foodie diaries September 1, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I’m really not a huge froyo person, but I would say when I was in college I would go once every week to two weeks! When the sweet tooth hits you, I just have to go get it! 🙂

  4. runningismagical September 1, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    I think impromptu escapades are always the best bc you have zero expectations for what’s to come. There is a froyo place 2 blocks from my office and about 5 within 10 minutes from my house!!! I’m an addict and I proudly admit that 🙂

  5. Caitlin @ Vegetarian in the City September 1, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    ooh that looks so fun!! there are always froyo trucks parked outside my office. it takes everything i’ve got not to get one every. single. day. haha

  6. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions September 1, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    True life: there is a fro-yo place two blocks from my apartment, and I’ve never been. The shame! (Although *technically* it’s a sandwich place that also does self-serve fro-yo, but unlike the rest of the world, my corner of the country has yet to catch on to the fro-yo craze, so it’s the best I can do.). It’s on my bucket list.

    I think if you can have breakfast for dinner, than you can totally have fro-yo for breakfast, right? I mean, it’s just like you’re living your day backwards. That’s acceptable, yes? Yes. Yes indeed it is.

  7. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 1, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Yum! I wish we had more places like this by me!

  8. Joanna September 7, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    My husband and I went on an impromptu date last week and it was amazing. I got home late and Mike hadn’t started dinner yet. I wasn’t feeling the salad we had planned and quickly asked him if he wanted to go to Surfside, a taco/burrito restaurant in our neighborhood that we’d been dying to try. We had a nice walk down there, chatting the whole way. When we got there we were a bit overwhelmed but quickly decided what we wanted. And it was taco Tuesday! Buy one get one free. So we got two taco platters for the price of one. It. was. delicious. I love impromptu dates!

Leave a Reply

