No Excuses

2 Sep

One of my biggest pet peeves is when people say that they’re “too busy to exercise.” That they don’t have time. That they ”just can’t get into it”. Don’t get me wrong, I have those days. Those days when all I want to do is curl up on the couch and watch episode after episode of ‘House Hunters’, usually while eating a bowl of ice cream or handful of chocolate. We all need those days. But certainly, not everyday.

Now that I’m working, I’m not as easily motivated. I’m mentally drained by the time I get home, and the last thing I want to do is get changed and drag my butt drive myself to the gym.

But I do it anyway.

Source

Last night was one of “those” nights. I was mentally exhausted. I was hungry. I was sleep deprived. But I didn’t want to make excuses for myself. I knew that I would feel better once I got moving.

Since I couldn’t stand the thought of being in the car for one more second, I decided to workout at home. Before I could change my mind, I quickly changed into my workout clothes, grabbed some water, and headed down to the basement (AKA the workout room).

First I felt silly taking this, then I remembered that if anyone understands this kind of vanity, it’s another bloggerย  ๐Ÿ™‚

Since I was in the comfort of my own home, I even treated it as a special occasion and wore my hot pants ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I won’t wear those to the gym). I didn’t have to worry about teenage boys suspiciously working out on the StairMasters behind my ArcTrainer anyone seeing my butt.

I also kept the equipment simple.

I popped in my Barre3 DVD, and felt better in a matter of minutes. 40 minutes later, I had completed a total body workout, and my mind was clearer too.

After finishing my workout, I had time to eat dinner with my family, shower, throw in two loads of laundry, and blog. So tell me again, you’re too busy to exercise? I don’t think so.

When it comes to taking care of our bodies, there should be no excuses. Yesterday morning, I read an article about being “skinny fat”. It basically says that just because you are thin, does not mean that you are healthy. It works the other way around too (you can be considered “larger” in societal terms, but actually be very healthy). Eating healthy food and exercising are both equally important for maintaining overall wellness (which most, if not all, of us already know).

This is why, unless I am sick, told I’m not able to workout (by a doctor), or taking a rest day (of course those are important too), I am going to get my body moving.

Source

There are just no excuses.

5 Responses to “No Excuses”

  1. lactosefreelizzie September 2, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    I love how you strive and push yourself! annnnnd wore your hot pants! lol ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. In Sweetness and In Health September 2, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Totally agree with you! Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All September 2, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    i loove this post. perhaps i should have read it before i decided to eat a whole loaf of cinnamon bread, ditch my workout, and feel like poop the rest of the day. haha. โค

  4. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 3, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I completely agree! Being active should be a healthy priority!

Leave a Reply

