A Good Day

10 Sep

Yesterday was payday Friday.

This morning was shopping Saturday.

I bought these:

And this:

Don’t let the purchases fool you; today was all about balance.

Shortly before that shopping trip, I enjoyed (in its entirety) a pumpkin pancake platter at IHOP….after enjoying a soy pumpkin spice latte as a post-workout treat.

Tonight I am going out to eat with my family to celebrate my sister’s birthday, then it’s back home for chocolate chip cake and ice cream.

All in all, it’s a good day :).

I hope you’re enjoying yours!

How often do you replace your running shoes?

Have you read the The China Study?

 

6 Responses to “A Good Day”

  1. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 10, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    I try and buy new shoes twice a year – although it’s expensive when you have no income! I’ve actually never heard of the China Studies – what made you get it?

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 11, 2011 at 7:40 am #

      I know, it can be very expensive! Mama Pea from Peas and Thank You has recommended it. It explains why going vegan and vegetarian is good for our bodies. I’m not either one, but I’m interested in learning more about it!

  2. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All September 10, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Not often enough. I think I wear them down to the point of getting injured and then I take that as a sign to replace them. I gotta do it more often- shoes are just so expensive! now that i have a real job maybe i can afford to do so more regularly lol

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 11, 2011 at 7:41 am #

      I’m kind of the same way. I started noticing knee and hip pain this week (to the point where it hurt to walk), and took it as a sign that I needed to buy new shoes.

  3. lactosefreelizzie September 11, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    Sounds like an awesome day–I’m jealous!!

  4. Scarlett September 11, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    There are very few things in life that make me happier than a brand new pair of running shoes!

    I’m very active—I did the NYC Tri last month and I log 3 hours in the gym most mornings—so I try to keep 2 pairs of shoes going at all times on a cycle (starting one new pair while the other pair is in the middle of its “lifespan”). Before grad school, I was religious about starting a new pair every 2 months, but now I’m broke and logging more hours on the bike than the treadmill/sidewalk, so it’s more like every 4 or 5!

    Enjoy your well-earned purchases!

Leave a Reply

