TOMS Shoes and Somber Times

12 Sep

So, I kind of had an expensive weekend.

I thought that Saturday’s purchases were going to be it, until I found myself with some free time on Sunday. One thing led to another, and before I knew it…

In my defense, the purchase is for a good cause. The shoes are cute and perfect for fall, and I helped a child receive a new pair of shoes (so it’s a win-win situation).

I know the usual response to TOMS is either love or hate. I admit to leaning more toward the latter, but after seeing both of my sisters in their own TOMS, my opinion changed. They’re cute; they’re comfy; they’re classic. Since I live in flats about 90% of the time, I know I’ll get lots of use out of these.

*  *  *  *  *  *

On a more somber note, Jordan’s grandma passed away over the weekend. She had been in the hospital for awhile, and Jordan got the call after church on Sunday. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to know her. I was with Jordan when he said his final goodbyes to her on Saturday. Though she wasn’t responsive, I encouraged him to talk to her. After going through my own experience of losing my grandpa in June, I know how important those last moments can be.

I do believe that everything happens in God’s perfect timing. If I would not have lost my grandpa in June, I’m not sure I would’ve known how to react to Jordan’s situation. Death can be scary thing, and until I saw someone close to me live the last stages of his life, I don’t think that I really understood it.

I’m sorry to leave you on a sad note. The thing is, there will be happy times and there will be sad times, and no matter how happy we may seem in this little ‘blog world’ of ours, that truth cannot be concealed.

I hope that you have a wonderful Monday and a great start to your week :).

What was the last online purchase that you made?

(If you’re a blogger) do you feel comfortable talking about somber times on your blog? /How do you feel when reading about them?

14 Responses to “TOMS Shoes and Somber Times”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 12, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    Aw, I’m so sorry to hear about Jordan’s grandma! :{

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) September 12, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I just had to buy our cross country team uniforms online. Well I picked them out if that counts. 😉

    I’m sorry to hear about Jordan’s grandma. I normally wait with somber times and let myself collect my thoughts before posting if that makes sense.

  3. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 12, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I got TOMS this summer and am absolutely in love. I also live in flats and they are perfect! And I’m so sorry about Jordan’s grandmother. I think it’s perfectly fine to write about sad things in a blog – they are chronicles of our lives and our lives aren’t always perfect! On Friday I wrote about how stressed out I’d been! Life has its ups and downs and it just makes us more relatable.

  4. Jess September 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear about your loss. I feel OK talking about somber things. I know that I only feel empathy for you and Jordan, so I figure that I should be OK with writing about it, too.

  5. Tracy's Treats September 12, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I’ve been wanting a pair of TOMS for a while now! They’re apparently very comfortable! The last thing I bought online was a pair of boots…that was last winter!
    I’m so sorry about Jordan’s Grandma. I don’t mind reading or blogging about somber things. They’re a very real part of life. That being said, I do understand how someone could feel uncomfortable posting about such things and that’s perfectly fine in my book too!

  6. Joanna September 12, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear about Jordan’s grandma. I think it’s important to talk about somber times because it’s a part of life that’s not often talked about and some people have a hard time being sad/knowing how to deal with unhappy times. When I read about struggles of others, it reminds me to be grateful of the happiness in my life. Sometimes I’ll cry reading about other people’s sadness and I think that’s good too. It’s good to cry and release. I also try to send kind thoughts to those people: peace, strength, courage, love, hope. And I hope that somehow they can feel it.

  7. Tessa at Amazing Asset September 12, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about Jordan’s grandma 😦 That sort of situation is so hard to deal with

    I do like TOMS though, I have 2 pairs!

  8. Tessa at Amazing Asset September 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about Jordan’s grandma 😦 That sort of situation is so hard to deal with

    I do like TOMS though, I have 2 pairs!!

  9. lactosefreelizzie September 12, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    i’m really sorry about jordan’s grandmother.
    i have not yet addressed a somber time in my blog, but i probably will later in the year if something happens.
    i really love TOMS. i got a pair three years ago and STILL wear them 🙂 so chic and comfy 🙂

  10. runningismagical September 12, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Last online purchase: sunglasses! And I’m so glad I did it!

    And I think selectively share somber times. When reflecting causings me to linger on a thought or learn something new about myself, I find it to be more than worth sharing. That’s the spreading the knowledge.

  11. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All September 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    So sorry to hear about his loss.

    On a happier note, those shoes are really cute! I could see them definitely being versatile and very practical for fall/winter!

    Last online purchase…hm… I really don’t know! I’ll take that as a good thing. Haha.

  12. sara @ the foodie diaries September 12, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    I’ve found that some of my most somber times bring out the best posts. I share almost everything on my blog, somber or happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

