I Think I’ll Keep Him

15 Sep

Sometimes, the toughest situations bring out the strongest version of ourselves. A self we didn’t even know existed.

Sometimes, a difficult situation can tear a person apart. Or, it can bring people together.

Sometimes, a sad time is just what a person needs to realize who matters the most in their life, and why.

Source

This week was one of those times.

I think I love Jordan more than I ever have before, in our 2 years and 8 months of dating.

Going through a tough time together, allowed me to see him, to see us, in a whole new light.

I love him more than I ever have before. And I don’t care who knows it ;).

Do you think that going through a tough time with a significant other/friend/family member makes you a stronger pair in the end?

15 Responses to “I Think I’ll Keep Him”

  1. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All September 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Aww, I’m really glad you are in such a great place with Jordan. So often we don’t appreciate people until they’re gone, in some way or another, so it’s great to set aside some moments and just recognize how amazing it is to have certain people in our lives.

    I definitely think going through a tough time makes for a stronger pair. It depends how tough the time really is, though. My parents divorced 2.5 years ago which was around 8 months into my relationship with Josh. It really sent me into a downward spiral and I became incredibly dependent on him– for everything. He truly got me through the tough time, and I love him so much for that, but sometimes I feel as though it’s changed the dynamic of our relationship too much. I also feel that when we first started dating, I was a child (I was 17) and after having gone through some difficult times, I am now truly an adult with a different set of views on life. This also complicates things…. but I think in the end, if we truly want to make it work, we will…and if we don’t, it isn’t meant to be.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 16, 2011 at 7:25 am #

      That’s great that he was there during your parent’s divorce. I think I understand where you’re coming from though. Even in the time I’ve been dating Jordan, I’ve changed a lot as a person. At this age we’re still figuring ourselves out, so I think it’s okay to be selfish and work on ourselves before we bring anyone else into the picture permanently!

  2. Jess September 15, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    I definitely feel the same way about going through tough times with my boyfriend. It is nice to lean on each other for support!

  3. lizzie September 16, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    This is such a sweet post!!! What id do to be in love 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Aw, you’ll get your chance one day. Trust me, take your time…I didn’t meet Jordan until junior year of college :).

  4. In Sweetness and In Health September 16, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    That’s awesome that you two are in such a great place! I definitely think that going through something tough can really make you have a stronger relationship. And if it doesn’t, then it’s probably not meant to be!

  5. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 17, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    Cute, cute, cute!

  6. Grace September 18, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I agree that going through tough situation makes you think a lot about the people in your life and who deserves to be there and who doesn’t. I’m so happy that you hav someone in you life to help your through:) Plus, you two look adorable together.

  7. pbbrittany September 18, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Aw! I’m glad that you guys stayed strong and you’re so happy together! You two are adorable 🙂
    Going through tough times with somebody really brings out their true colors. I had an ex who completely caved when I was going through a rough patch and needless to say- I kicked him to the curb 😛 But, in all seriousness, he made me feel worse! But, my best friend has been through so much crap with me and she is always there, strong as ever! I love it when you find people who can handle tough situations with you because it makes everything a little better when life seems to suck.

  8. Elizabeth @ Mirror in the Sky September 19, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Great post! It’s definitely the toughest times where you really get to know someone even better and grow closer as a couple. It’s true that in this time of our lives, we are changing a lot and adjusting to so much. I can so totally relate to this. My boyfriend and I have been dating for over a year, and in that time we’ve gone through post-grad blues, changing jobs, moves across states– we’ve seen each other through so much, and I’m more and more grateful for him every single day.

    Thank you for posting!

  9. Joanna September 20, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    I’m happy to hear that there was a silver lining in his grandmother’s passing.

    I agree that going through tough times together makes you stronger. My husband was unemployed during our engagement (lost his job after an election) and it was the middle of winter and it was tough. It was tough on him, it was tough on me. I remember the day he got a job offer. We had lunch plans and when I walked up to meet him he was beaming. When we sat down and started eating I burst out into tears saying “thank God this is over.”

    Now, he has a new job that he’s really not loving and we’ve both kind of been wondering where are we going, what are we doing? We know we are lucky but still feel kind of lost sometimes. We’ve had a bunch of conversations about it (after feeling these things in private for quite awhile) and have felt so close, so in love ever since–even though nothing has changed. It just feels good to know that we support each other and we can be open and honest about our feelings.

  10. Kirstie @ Musings of a Happy Life September 24, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    I definitely think going through a tough time with your partner brings you closer together. I think when you have someone for that unfaltering support, you appreciate them more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

