Does Social Media Make us Anti-Social?

22 Sep

Thank you for all of the nice comments on yesterday’s post! I should probably clarify (maybe more for myself than for anyone else), that this will not be my first race. I’ve ran two 5Ks and one 10K, but I usually just jump into it without training. This year I’ve been running more often, working on my pace and stride, so hopefully I’ll be more prepared. We will see..it’s only a week and half away!

———-

So, it was a little crazy at work yesterday. The receptionist was out sick, and a quick replacement was needed. Guess who gets to play receptionist when the original is out? Why, entry-level employees, of course (and I was one of them).

I took turns with a couple of other girls, so I was only up front (with plenty of windows, hence the people watching) for a little less than two hours. It was a little distracting, nonetheless. One of my tasks was to answer the phone. Seems simple, right? Somehow, it wasn’t.

I was suddenly worried whether I would say the right thing, take the correct message, or direct the call to the right person. I was trying to do my own work at the same time, so that only made it more stressful. When I got back to my regular desk, it stirred up an interesting conversation in the office. Does social media make us anti-social?

Or crazy??…

I sit with a group of writers at work. We’re on our computers all day long, ear buds in, instant messenger service up. Even if we want to talk to the person sitting five feet away from us, we are most likely to do it through Facebook, Twitter, or the office messenger service. We rarely have to have face-to-face conversations, and never have to talk on the phone. This is why, yesterday, when we were asked to sit up front and talk to people in person and on the phone, it felt like a whole different world.

It makes me kind of sad. I’m getting so used to conversing with people through social media, and get tongue tied when I don’t have time to sit and think about what I’m going to say next.

Do you think social media makes you less social?

11 Responses to “Does Social Media Make us Anti-Social?”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 22, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    I agree–we use iChat all day at work…to talk to people across the office or to those who sit right next to us. How sad!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) September 22, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I was just talking to my roommate about this and I think it does a lot. I used to go out a lot more often and didn’t have a phone phobia…now I def do and I have been trying to go out more senior year and it’s ten times better I think.

  3. Mallory @ It's Only Life September 22, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Maybe I’m just wayyy naive/not up-to-date, but it’s shocking to me that people in the same office use social media outlets for communication! Ichat in the office? (Obviously I’m not insulting you, as you have no control over how things are done)..but wow! I couldn’t even imagine. At my job, I’m always talking to the girls in the same office I’m in, or to my boss, or to patients. I couldn’t imagine this job without talking to people face-to-face…and I don’t think I’d want to.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy September 22, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I didn’t know either, until I started my job! I’m jealous that you can actually talk and make friends. On one hand, it would be distracting if we talked all day while we were working, but on the other hand, I think it would help us get to know one another better! My first couple weeks of work were hard, because I didn’t understand why people wouldn’t even say hi. Now I’m just used to it!

  4. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats September 22, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    It definitely keeps me from just calling someone, but then again things like Facebook keep me in touch with people that I would have otherwise lost contact with.

  5. lactosefreelizzie September 22, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    hmm well it seems like a lot of people talk on facebook and online–but never in person..which is pretty weird! so it makes us social online, but for some people less social in person.

  6. runningismagical September 23, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I think we’re still ‘social’ – but when it comes to face to face social behavior, I think the social media thing definitely doesn’t help…people don’t pick up the call anymore (which I think is cheating bc you can type, delete and retype messages you send).

Leave a Reply

