A Day Full of Racing

2 Oct

I. am. so. sore. My whole body- my legs, my abs, my back- is sore. I guess that’s what happens when you run nearly 5 miles with only two weeks of training.

Yes, guys, that means three doses of Airborne and some extra sleep helped me fight off whatever it was I was feeling on Friday…and I ran my 8K race!

My sister and I got up bright and early yesterday to go to the park for the ‘Walk a Mile in Her Shoes’ 5K walk/8K run. Despite it only being 39 degrees outside (yuck), the clear skies and sunshine made it a beautiful morning for a run. Once checking in, we listened to the opening speaker talk about her emotional personal experience with domestic violence (the race was for October’s Domestic Violence Awareness Month). Her story touched everyone, and soon after, we lined up at the start, pumped up to run for a great cause.

My sister and I ran the first mile or so together, before settling into our own paces separately. I finished in approx. 48 minutes, about a minute and a half behind my sis. I was perfectly content with this time…it was a non-competitive race, and my only goal was to finish :). There are no pictures to capture the moment, but believe me, none of you would want to see that mess anyway. Since sweat and cold air do not mix well, we grabbed our complimentary water and fruit, and headed home. But not before making a pit stop at Starbucks, of course…

No, that is not sweat in my hair. I thoroughly enjoyed my pumpkin spice latte after a nice hot shower. I’d like to thank the wind for the especially red complexion I was rocking pre-make-up. 

After the race, I had to quickly get ready to meet my dad…for another kind of racing. I don’t think I’ve talked about it much on the blog, but one of my dad’s hobbies is drag racing. He doesn’t get to do it very often because he travels a lot for work and doesn’t have a ton of free time on the weekends, but this weekend he finally took some time for himself. I spent my afternoon hanging out with him at the track. I even captured some of the action.

Unfortunately, he got out in the first round of eliminations, so we called it day and packed up to go home.

After a little bit of rest and a dinner date with my sisters and our boyfriends, my Saturday night was topped off with fro-yo.

Such a terrible way to end the day, I know ;).

Now, I must hobble out of bed and get ready for church. Enjoy your Sunday, blog friends!

How do you soothe achy muscles?

Do you or your family members have any interesting hobbies?

18 Responses to “A Day Full of Racing”

  1. Tracy's Treats October 2, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Woohoo congrats on your race finish!! I usually soothe achy muscles, well at least post-race achy muscles, with ice packs. Hope that helps!!

  2. runyogarepeat October 2, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Great job in your race! If you have access to a foam roller (my gym has a few), they are SO good for soothing muscles. It hurts in a good way.

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign October 2, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    That’s so cute that you and your sisters all hang out! How many siblings do you have?

  4. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All October 2, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Great job with the race!! 4.8 miles in 48 minutes is SOLID!
    Your dad has such a cool hobby! My dad paints as a hobby..he is SO talented, I definitely did not inherit ANY of his artistic genes!! haha!

  5. Caroline October 2, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    It sounds like you had a fantastic race, and I’m sure it’s especially meaningful to run for such a great cause. Every good race deserves to end in Starbucks and Froyo:)

  6. Melissa @ TryingToHeal October 2, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    That is a great time for your race, and for such a great cause.

    And how cool that your Dad does drag racing! How exciting! What a great way to spend some time together.

  7. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) October 2, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Ha “No that is not sweat in my hair.” I’m glad you don’t post photos of that as I do lolz. Anyways congrats for finishing-that is awesome! My only advice for achy muscles is to stretch and maybe take an ice-bath. If it’s not cold there…I totally understand not doing it when it is cold because god knows I’m getting in an ice-bath when I can frolick in snow outdoors.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy October 2, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Haha..I was tempted to take a picture post-run, but decided against it. It is kind of cold here…I think I would make myself sick if I took an ice bath! I walked a lot today (when I was shopping..), and that seemed to help!

  8. thislifeissparkling October 2, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    You say I never comment on here so I guess I will today:) I don’t really have too much to say since I was with you this whole weekend. Have a good week and I’ll see you Saturday as you walk down the aisle. Oh and don’t trip;)

  9. Oats n' Bows October 3, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Congrats on your race! 😀 Yoga always works for me. I haveee to do yoga at least once a week or I’m just a jellyfish…

  10. thehealthyapron October 3, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I have been craving some fro-yo ALL weekend! Arg hahah teasing!

Leave a Reply

