Pumpkins + Ice Cream + Sisterly Love

17 Oct

My lazy weekend was short-lived. I was back on the road again on Sunday, and for a very good reason.

Jordan and I took a little road trip to visit my sister (who recently started a very cute blog- check it out 🙂) at college!

We were super hungry when we arrived and didn’t waste any time finding somewhere to eat. Our first stop was Boiler Market, a local cafe/bar.

I had the soup and sandwich combo, with a bowl of broccoli cheddar soup and half a buffalo chicken wrap. I’d say it was pretty good- considering I ate every bit of it and still had room to spare (you’ll see what I mean in a sec 😉).

After lunch, we took a little tour around campus. My sis, Molly, goes to Purdue, the same school I went to my freshman year. I’d be lying if I said it’s not a little strange walking around there (five years later)! So much has changed, but so much has stayed the same. Jordan hadn’t been there since he toured the campus in high school (He almost went to Purdue…I wonder if we would have met there?), so Molly and I filled him in on all of the hot spots.

And after the tour, it was time for a trip to…

The pumpkin patch! Using Jordan’s handy GPS, we found one pretty close to campus. It was a very windy day, so we all chose our pumpkins pretty quickly.

And then, it was time for one last stop. (The one I was looking forward to a little too much)

I think someone wanted my ice cream…

Told you I saved room ;).

Our final stop was at Silver Dipper, a cute little ice cream shop that I must visit every time I go to Purdue. It’s hand-dipped, full-fat ice cream, and you better believe I enjoyed all two scoops and that white chocolate dipped cone!

Molly had some study plans shortly after we finished our ice cream, so Jordan and I said our goodbyes and rolled ourselves out of there started the drive home.

Despite being away from home, it really was a perfect Sunday, full of relaxation.

Gotta love sister bonding time :).

How did you spend your Sunday?

How often do you spend time with your siblings?

5 Responses to “Pumpkins + Ice Cream + Sisterly Love”

  1. Caroline October 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I’ve been to Purdue a few times, but haven’t visited that ice cream shop before. It sounds absolutely fantastic!

  2. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All October 17, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    you and your sister are so pretty. you have seriously gorgeous hair! i have always envied the thick beautiful curls that you have! my friend from college has that hair and she’s always envied the fine, straight hair like mine (the grass is always greener, right?)

    whenever i have fro yo i always think “wow this is so good” but then when i go back to the full-fat every so often, i’m like…ok, what was i even thinking? THIS is the way to go. haha

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy October 18, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      Aw, thank you so much! My hair is a pain to straighten, so I know what you mean about “the grass is greener” :). I know..the full-fat stuff does not even compare to fro yo!

  3. Jess October 18, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    Looks like you had a great time! That ice cream looks great.

  4. lactosefreelizzie October 18, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    looks so fun!
    on sundays i usually hang out with friends and chill/play soccer!
    i spend lots of time w/ my bro (we live under the same roof)–sometimes its good and sometimes its bad! 😉

Leave a Reply

