Sorry I’m Not Sorry

27 Oct

Hi, my name’s Emily, and I’m a chronic apologizer.

(This is where you say, “Hi, Emily.”)

I apologize when someone cuts me off in the grocery store aisle. I apologize when someone else has a bad day. I apologize when someone doesn’t approve of something I do- or sometimes- who I am.

Lately, I’ve found this to be true a lot. And I’m sick of it. Read:

Halloween is my least favorite holiday. Dressing up takes a ridiculous amount of effort, and strutting around in public in a slutty costume does nothing for my self-esteem (or for my relationship of almost 3 years). So, I will probably not be hitting up the bars for any Halloween parties this year. 

I would rather carve pumpkins and have pizza and beer at home. Sorry I’m not sorry.

—–

Today, I was released from my physical therapist. This means I’m at about 90%, and just need to work on that final 10% on my own.

Thank goodness that awkwardness is over with…

So tonight, I went to a strength training class at my gym. For the first time in FOUR months. I was kind of kidding myself. Although I tried my best to own those 3 and 5 pound weights (what my PT recommended I start out at), I couldn’t keep up with the rest of the class. And I had to take quite a few breaks. Sorry. But I’m really not sorry.

—–

Everyday, I eat something sweet. Whether it’s in my oatmeal, my lunchbox, or a pre-bedtime snack, I crave something sugary chocolaty, and I give into it.

I know I consider myself a healthy living blogger, but a handful of berries and one square of dark chocolate just isn’t gonna cut it. Sorry I’m not sorry.

What are you not sorry about?

11 Responses to “Sorry I’m Not Sorry”

  1. Health Freak College Girl October 27, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    halloween is my least favorite holiday too! every year i dread when the time comes around haha. the only good part is the pumpkin 🙂

  2. your favorite sister:) October 27, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I love Halloween! I guess its probably just because I love everything pumpkin and after Halloween it means Thanksgiving (which I adore) and Christmas! Oh and you look very attractive in that pic while you’re brushing your teeth;)

  3. Kim from Wonderings of a twenty-something October 27, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I love Halloween but more for the fun parties we have found that aren’t about the crazy costumes! As for what I’m not sorry about… Not sorry that I chose to cuddle with my husband and puppy on the couch instead of lifting at the gym tonight. There’s always tomorrow!

  4. CheezyK October 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Hehehe, I think you must secretly be Australian. Seriously, we say sorry when someone else bumps into us! Who does that?
    And I’m not sorry about my love of sweets either 🙂

  5. Hilary October 28, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    I hate Halloween too, but looove Thanksgiving and Christmas…and Fourth of July:)

  6. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign October 28, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    Ah, I tend to be an over-apologizer, too! How do we stop?!

  7. Khushboo October 28, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Especially as I am such an over apologiser, I love this post! Sorry I’m not sorry that I have to a bedtime snack every night, hungry or not!

  8. Karolina October 28, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    I have something sweet every day too- and I’m never sorry about it. I’m sorry I’m not sorry that I love the color pink and love wearing high heels.

  9. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions October 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Dude, I think Halloween is ridiculous, too. Hate it. All of my friends are like, “What are you doing this weekend?!?!” and I’m like “…homework?” Haha. Thankfully I’m super busy next week so I can pretend that’s my reasoning, but really I just don’t care. I think it’s a stupid holiday. And I’m really not sorry about that haha.

Leave a Reply

