“Punkman” Carving

31 Oct

When I was little, I used to call pumpkins “punkmans.” I had the right idea- the pumpkins my dad I carved always had the typical eyes, nose and mouth, making the whole punk “man” idea pretty legit.

Though I have outgrown my mispronunciation, I haven’t outgrown carving pumpkins- which is exactly how I spent yesterday afternoon with Jordan.

After church, I changed into my comfiest clothes, laid on the couch for an hour or two, and asked Jordan to come over to carve our men (you know, our punkmens).

Sidenote: I think we’re to the point in our blogging relationship where I feel comfortable enough to reveal my comfy weekend attire. Oversized sweats, a hoodie, and pink fuzzy socks are the norm around here. The only thing I’m missing is my fuzzy hot pink robe…. (no, I am not kidding). I think Courtney would be proud of my cozies.

Don’t you feel honored to have gotten that glimpse into my life ;)?

Like I was saying, Jordan came over, and we got to carving that man. He did the dirty work while I sat back and relaxed, and I chose our design.

Even though we both picked our own pumpkins from the patch, we decided to carve just one of them.

I didn’t make him do all of the work :).

This is actually the first year I’ve used a template. I don’t know why I hadn’t tried it sooner…it was much easier than the old “drawing a face with a marker and hoping that it turns out okay” method.

In less than an hour, our masterpiece was complete.

Jordan’s planning to come over and help me pass out candy tonight, so we’ll display it on the porch then. I think it’ll look cuter once it’s all lit up!

Carving pumpkins and passing out candy are what I actually like about Halloween. I know I said that I am 80, but clearly, I am also five. Sorry I’m not sorry ;).

What’s your favorite part of Halloween?

Did you carve a pumpkin this year?

5 Responses to ““Punkman” Carving”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign October 31, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Haha, that’s so cute that you called them that! We carve pumpkins each year but this year we’ll get around to it since I have a harvest party tonight with my bible study girls, and he has a basketball game.

    Love the pink fuzzy socks–my weekend attire usually is similar to yours!

  2. Health Freak College Girl October 31, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    awww cute! i haven’t carved pumpkins in a longgg time. this makes me want to do it again 🙂

  3. Jess October 31, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    So cute! I wish we had trick or treaters.

  4. peaceloveandoats October 31, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I’m actually not a fan of pumpkin carving – it’s messy and the pumpkin rots more quickly! I am, however, super jealous that you’ll have trick or treaters! I can’t wait until I live somewhere where I have them!

  5. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All October 31, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    you are too cute! looks like tons of fun. i didnt carve any pumpkins- just ate a boatload of cookies and candy!

Leave a Reply

