Tis the Season… for November Goals

1 Nov

Happy November!

Tis the season of family time, pumpkin pie, turkey trots, cozy sweaters, Christmas music, baking, and lazy weekends spent in front of the TV fire. Unlike the feelings I have towards Halloween, I really like this time of year! It’s funny how one day can make a difference…

Bye bye, Halloween

I made the conscious decision to start this month off right. Knowing I had dinner plans with my friends tonight, I decided to get up and workout before work. Since I didn’t have a lot of time, I did Level 2 of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred for a quick, but effective workout.

Source

I haven’t done this DVD in a very very long time, so it was tough, but I got through it! The only problem is, my shoulder hurts now. I think I might have overdone it. I’m going to have to be more careful with strength training- I don’t want to do more harm than good!

Besides continuing to workout regularly, I have several more goals for this month:

1. Run More Often– Remember how I ran that 8K one month ago today? Well, I signed up for another race! My family, Jordan and I will be running a 4.5 mile race on Thanksgiving morning! Considering that’s only 3 weeks away, I really need to up my mileage and get my legs prepared for a potentially chilly outdoor run!

2. Stay Positive– It’s pretty easy for me to get frustrated in less-than-exciting situations. That’s why I want to do my best to not let things get to me this month (and in the months that follow). Listening to Christmas music (am I the only one who finds this to be an instant mood lifter?), keeping in touch with friends (even when life gets busy), and remembering to take time for myself will help me with this.

3. Let Go of Control– Let’s face it- I’m a control freak. Major. I know that many things in life are out of my control, and that I’m only setting myself up for failure when I try to attain perfection (hence, the title of this blog), but I still have a hard time letting go. This month, I want that to change. I’m going to do my best to be as “go with the flow” as possible…we’ll see what happens.

Besides those (more serious) goals, I also plan to bake as much as possible, watch as many Christmas movies as I can, get plenty of sleep, and enjoy time with my family and friends. Yay for the start of the holiday season :).

What are your November goals?

What do you enjoy most about this season?

9 Responses to “Tis the Season… for November Goals”

  1. Health Freak College Girl November 1, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    congrats on signing up for another race! i’m sure you’ll rock it 🙂 and i need to work on #3 too. total control freak right here too! my goal for november is to drink more waterrrr

  2. Caroline November 1, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    In my personal rules, I can start listening to Christmas music at exactly midnight when it becomes November 1st. While I didn’t listen to it today, just knowing that I could brought a huge smile to my face all day!
    My goals- to maintain over a crazy month of traveling and to continue to get 2 runs in a week!

  3. Lisa @ i'm an Okie November 1, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    The best out of all of those goals is letting go of control. We really have no control over anything, and it feels wonderful to surrender it. Life opens up so much more to you.

  4. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign November 2, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    These are great!

    I honestly love that it gets darker earlier…it’s so cozy!

  5. peaceloveandoats November 2, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I’m doing a 5K with my dad, cousins and uncle on thanksgiving! I think it’s a great way to start the holiday!

  6. kathleen @ the daily crumb November 2, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    my biggest november goal is to get back my running endurance. after a 12 month-ish break (i was seriously burned out), i’m ready to get going again!!

  7. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All November 2, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    i just bought that dvd the other weekend! im a little behind on the 8 ball as its not new or anything, but i reallyyy need to step up the weight training and start this! i think my goal is to do this every day or every other day for 30 days… we’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

