Indy Food Truck Festival

6 Nov

On Friday after work, Jordan and I went downtown to try something we had never tried before.

Something we knew would shrink our his wallets (thanks, Jordan πŸ™‚) and make our waistlines grow. Something we both jumped at the chance at trying since becoming fascinated with Food Network’s ‘The Great Food Truck Race.’

Indianapolis’ very own food truck festival.

I found the event randomly one day while browsing the web, and thought it would make for a fun date night. There were about a dozen or so food trucks set up in the parking lot of a theater, all within close proximity for optimal taste testing. Let me clarify, though- these were not the typical “food trucks” that you might visit at a state fair or event of the like. These food trucks each had their own personalities, themes and types of cuisine, just like you’d see on ‘Great Food Truck Race.’

We circled the lot once to check out our options, then got in line at The NY Slice, a pizzeria on wheels with an East Coast flair.

The long line moved quickly, and I was more than ready to order a slice of cheese when we got to the window.

The verdict? It was good. Really good. While I’ve never been to New York, I know that I prefer the thin crust New York style pizza over Chicago style, and this slice met my expectations. Nearly the size of the paper plate, I folded it in half and ate what I could before giving the rest to Jordan. I knew we had more food to try, so I wasn’t going to fill up right away!

Our next stop was Der Pretzel Wagen, a German-inspired pretzel truck very new to the scene. Jordan’s cousin was actually working at this truck- her friends own it and she thought it’d be fun to help out. Since she was able to give us the inside scoop, we found out that they are only about three weeks into their business- but they had a very long line the entire night!

Jordan and I split an original salted pretzel- a side of mustard for me, cheese for him.

The hot, soft, doughy goodness was bigger than my head. We ate it while mooching off of the heat lamps from the food truck next door, Big Green Bistro. Those pros came prepared for the chilly evening.

After standing under their heat lamps for a good 20 minutes, we figured we should probably support their business too. So, Jordan bought “a box,” which included a pork taco, a grilled bacon and cheese sandwich, a cup of tomato soup, and pumpkin creme for dessert.

Jordan snagged the soup from the box, then brought the rest of the food over to his cousin since both of us were pretty “carbed out” from the pizza and pretzel. We weren’t too full for dessert though- and I made sure we made one more stop before we left.

Scout’s Treat Truck is a food truck solely dedicated to dessert. More specifically, cupcakes. By the time we got there, a lot of the flavors were sold out, but Jordan and I quickly decided on a birthday cake cupcake, to share.

It included vanilla bean cake, vanilla cream cheese frosting and sprinkles on top. Even though I’m usually a chocolate person (that flavor was already sold out), this was, by far, the best cupcake I’ve ever eaten. Jordan claims that I ate the whole thing before he could try it, but I promise I gave him a few bites ;).

We sufficiently carbo-loaded for no reason at all- and I’m perfectly okay with that :).

The night ended with some TV at home- AKA- I fell asleep as soon as my head hit that couch pillow. I guess that’s what happens you‘re an 80-year-old living inside a 23-year-old’s body when you eat your body weight in carbs.

Have you ever eaten at a food truck?

What is your favorite food to carbo-load with?

11 Responses to “Indy Food Truck Festival”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign November 6, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Ah how fun! I love big pretzels like that! And, like you I prefer my pizza with thin crust! mmm

  2. Alaina @ Let's Be Real November 6, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    SO jealous! I want to find some good food trucks but it seems the only ones I have seen (which is only two) are filled with BBQ! That pizza made my stomach make nice whale sounds πŸ™‚ love it!

  3. peaceloveandoats November 6, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I’ve never gotten food from a food truck, the only ones that have stopped near my school in Chicago have been calzones and cupcakes, and since I can’t eat gluten I couldn’t get anything. I’ve always wanted to though, and that sounds like a fun event!

  4. V November 6, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Great post! I just found you over twitter… I blog about the trucks too. What a great time to be in Indy!

  5. Caroline November 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Wow! That sounds like a really fun evening! I love feeling so full that I pass out from exhaustion:) Glad you had a fun weekend!

  6. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All November 6, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    looks awesome! i absolutely love those big doughy pretzels. and that pizza slice looks amazing! i definitely carbo-loaded friday night for no absolute reason too! lol!

  7. Health Freak College Girl November 6, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    i love food trucks! i went to a few and then when the great food truck race came on tv, i was extra stoked!

    as for carbo loading…i like to carbo load on cereal πŸ™‚ many bowls of cereal haha

  8. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries November 6, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I’m SUCH a pasta girl! I would rather have a bowl of pasta than a bowl of ice cream. Some people say I’m lucky to not have a sweet tooth, but sometimes I carbo-load a little TOO much πŸ˜‰

  9. runningismagical November 6, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Food trucks have been all the hype over here for the past couple of years and now they have designated nights and lots for them in LA. Glad you had fun- they are so delicious!

  10. Marla November 7, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I’ve never eaten from a food truck actually and I work in Philly where there’s one on every corner!

    My fav carb is definitely a Philly soft pretzel (I’m a little biased hehe). I just love them though esp. when they’re fresh and hot out of the oven!

Leave a Reply

