Bridezilla Moment #1

21 Nov

Before I was engaged, I told myself that I would never be Bridezilla. I would never be that girl fussing over fabrics and colors and venues and favors. I would never be that girl barking demands at her family and friends.

9 days into my engagement, I had my first Bridezilla moment.

It was Saturday afternoon, in the middle of a bridal store. I was surrounded by satin and lace and cotton and polyester- and it just happened. I spent the afternoon trying on (a few) dresses, but wasn’t getting much of a response from my family.

I thought I was going to have this big “Say Yes to the Dress” moment. I learned that I watch too much “Say Yes to the Dress.”

I wanted something simple with minimal beading, maybe a little bit of lace- and my mom and sisters wanted sparkle. When my mom started pointing out dresses that I knew I’d never wear, I became overwhelmed with the thought of trying on a million said dresses that I knew I’d never wear, and I snapped. In the middle of an overcrowded David’s Bridal.

Needless to say, we left the store (the second one we’d visited that day) empty-handed .

Once the tension had subsided, we went home to do something a little more meaningful.

We opened up my mom’s dress, which had been sealed in a box for 25 years. She has always said that once one of us got engaged, we (my sisters and I) would open it up and try it on.

And so we did.

Unfortunately, her dress is not an option for my big day. It’s completely wrong for my body shape, and it looked more like a Halloween costume than it did a wedding dress. But, we did lighten up the day a little by playing dress-up. My mom even got into it for old time’s sake :).

As far as finding my “perfect” dress goes, I have made an appointment with a (different) bridal store for next weekend. I’m hoping that round two goes better than the first. Now that I know what to expect, I think I’ll be able to relax a little.

Just like I sometimes take life too seriously, I think I have (already) been taking wedding planning too seriously.

And who am I kidding? It’s just a dress. That I will wear one day. That I will wear for 12 hours, tops. I can’t promise that this will be my last ‘Bridezilla Moment,’ but it will be my last one regarding wedding dresses.

Promise. Maybe.

You can now check out all of my wedding related posts under the ‘Wedding’ tab!

8 Responses to “Bridezilla Moment #1”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign November 21, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Aw, don’t feel bad–we all have bridezilla moments. Mine was a meltdown about who would drive me to my hair appointment lol

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) November 21, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    Awe sorry to hear that. Although I think you are miles above most bridezilla moments for noticing and taking care of it. I do like your moms wedding dress though. My mom actually had one somewhat similar. 🙂

  3. Meg November 21, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I always wondered how that switch was made. Everyone sees bridezillas and swears to never become one, but it seems that everyone has their share of those little moments!

    My sis and I tried on our mom’s gown when my sis was dress shopping as well. Hers is 37 years old, so not exactly in style, but she was okay with cutting off a sleeve to wrap around my sis’s flowers on her big day and there are pieces left for me to pull into my wedding day when the time comes too!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy November 21, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      Aw, that’s nice! I’d like to take part of my mom’s dress, but I’m not sure she wants us to cut it apart!

  4. peaceloveandoats November 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I have watched every single episode of Say Yes to the Dress at least twice… (it’s on Netflix instant streaming). My best advice is to talk to your family beforehand, and tell them what you are looking for, and that as much as you appreciate their opinions that you should wear sparkly, the whole event will go much smoother if they keep those opinions to themselves. This is about YOU and this is about celebrating an amazingly special day and love in your life. Breath deeply. And never take anything too seriously.

  5. Health Freak College Girl November 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    i’m pretty sure everyone has their bridezilla moment. i say that i wouldn’t have a moment like that but of course i will!

  6. Kristen @ notsodomesticated November 22, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    We’ve all been there. I was proud of myself for not getting “too” stressed during wedding planning, but I definitely had a few touchy moments … like when I thought my dress was too small. It ended up being fine … I was just bloated because I had just gotten off of a plane haha! 😉

  7. runningismagical November 22, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Bridezilla moments are bound to happen to anyone! And they all vary in size…but luckily yours was minor and killing it with humor always helps!

Leave a Reply

