The Day I Went Back to College

10 Dec

Last night, I cut out of work a little early, with good reason. For the first time in 4 1/2 years, I was spending the night at Purdue. As you may remember, I attended Purdue my freshman year of college, and my youngest sister goes there now.

As soon as I arrived and got my visitor parking pass figured out, we were off to have dinner in the dining hall. Purdue is known for their good food, so I was excited about visiting one of my old favorites. They say some things never change, and I think this remains true when it comes to the hot spots on campus. I remembered the layout of the dining hall like I was there yesterday, and headed straight for the ‘make your own stir fry’ station. As soon as I loaded up my bowl with noodles and raw veggies, I gave it to one of the cooks and begin my wait. The stir fry station was infamous for taking forever when I was in school, and it was no different last night. After waiting around for a while, and grabbing an orange to go on the side, my food was finally ready.

It tasted better than it looks, I promise :). After eating dinner, my sister and I walked back to my car so we could make our next stop of the night, Silver Dipper. Silver Dipper is our favorite ice cream shop on campus. Everything is hand-dipped, and they only take cash. It reminds me of being on vacation.

I got Heaps of Love (basically vanilla ice cream with everything you can imagine inside) and Coconut Almond Bliss in a chocolate dipped cone. Worth every single calorie.

Once we finished our ice cream, we went to Redbox to pick up “Something Borrowed,” and then settled in for the night. A typical Friday night in college (for me, at least :)).

This morning, we had breakfast and shopping plans, so once we got ready (I even braved the community bathrooms for a shower- reminded me of the good old days ;)), we went to Panera for breakfast. Coffee and bagels were enjoyed, and then we shopped until we could shop no more. The crowds started appearing around 1:30, so it was a perfect time to stop for lunch. When we spotted a cute cafe down the road, we couldn’t resist.

I had tried the thai chicken wrap, and it was extremely filling, but delicious.

My sister had a veganini, which we thought was a vegan panini- but it had feta cheese on it. Not sure what that was about, but she’s vegetarian and not vegan, so she enjoyed her feta without a problem :).

After lunch, I dropped my sis off at her dorm, and then it was time for me to head home. Since I didn’t sleep the greatest last night, I’m thinking a nap is in order before I do anything tonight. Jordan is taking me out to dinner, so I’ve gotta rest up. It’s our one monthiversary of our engagement today- can you believe it? Time is already flying by!

Alright, my pillow is calling me for a quick power nap. Have a great evening!

Would you go back to college for a night if you had the chance?

Have you seen “Something Borrowed”? I’ve seen it three times already. I love it!

2 Responses to “The Day I Went Back to College”

  1. Katie @ Peace Love and Oats December 10, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I would definitely go back, well not to the dorm! I loved going to school in Charleston, I’m actually visiting in January!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) December 11, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Typical Friday for me as well! I’m glad you had such a fun time visiting your old school. I just went back to my dining hall a few days ago and everything is exactly where it was when I went there too. Crazy. We also have stirfry but I’m not bold enough to try it.

Leave a Reply

