Christmas Angels in Indiana

12 Dec

As I was driving home from work today As I was stopped in traffic on the way home from work today, I saw something on the side of the road- a homeless man carrying a couple of bags. At least, I assume that he was homeless, or perhaps just looking for a ride, but either way, he was sitting on the road, right by the exit.

Normally when I am stopped in traffic and see someone lingering on the side of the road, I lock my doors and look straight ahead- that’s the paranoid side of me. But today, I didn’t have time to do that.

A pickup truck, several cars in front of me, pulled to the shoulder of the road as he turned onto the exit ramp. As soon as he pulled over, I saw the homeless man jump up and run to the truck in a hurry. At first, I thought they might have known each other, but as I crept closer (the expressway was a parking lot), I had a chance to check out the scene.

The passenger of the truck got out to talk to the man. I could see both of them pointing, and making conversation. As I finally passed the truck, I could see the man getting inside the truck. I have a feeling that he was going to take the man to wherever he needed to go.

The point is, I didn’t know that people like this existed anymore. Trustworthy, kind- willing to offer a warm shelter for a man otherwise sitting on the ground in freezing temps- kind of people.

Source

But you know what? They do.

Have you seen someone do something nice lately?

Would you welcome a homeless person into your car? I would never do this, but I can appreciate the nice gesture from those two (fully grown, big and strong looking) men!

 

10 Responses to “Christmas Angels in Indiana”

  1. LeeAnn December 12, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I have a friend that as a rule picks up every hitchhiker he sees. I think it’s inspirational 🙂

  2. peaceloveandoats December 13, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    See that’s how I feel, it’s great that they helped him out, but I would never do that, for safety reasons!!! And I love that quote. She was an amazing girl.

  3. Amy December 13, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Wow, that is a great story, especially at the holiday season. I, too, am incredibly paranoid, but it warms my heart seeing things like that 🙂

    Have a great day, Emily!!

  4. thislifeissparkling December 13, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    I think it’d be neat and really nice to help someone like that, but I know I’d never do it. Too many crazies in the world now-a-days :/

  5. Jen, a priorfatgirl December 13, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I’ve been feeling this intense desire to PAY IT FORWARD lately – do something just because instead of for a pat on the back. Your story gave me goosebumps. Now I’m off to PAY IT FORWARD!

  6. Lauren December 13, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    What a nice story! That’s the holiday spirit. Thanks for the agave – the card with it was super cute as well.

  7. Karolina @ CounselorMusings December 13, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I wouldn’t pick someone up, because it just isn’t safe so much. But I so appreciate that people who were safe could help him out! And just because we might choose to not bring someone into the car, that doesn’t mean we can’t reach out and help those in need in other ways. I love the quote you shared from Anne Frank. What a great quote written out of such a horrible situation.

  8. Have Faith April 8, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    This is so nice! I actually have a blog im trying to get started its goodpplexist.blogspot.com and i’m looking for people to share stories like this! I am trying to get more people to do random acts of kindness. Check it out and let me know what you think. If you have any stories to share just email goodpplexist@gmail.com and it’ll be posted! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

