Hydrating Doesn’t Have to be Hard

14 Dec

When it comes to my health, I’m good at hydrating. Don’t get me wrong- I’m not trying to brag. This healthy habit of mine means that I go to the bathroom about 50 times a day. Also, I also eat a copious amounts of chocolate on a daily basis (you know, to balance things out….). Anyway, when I was contacted by Crystal Light Pure, I knew I had to jump at the chance to talk about what they believe in- hydration, of course. As the holidays draw near, the weather is getting cooler and my skin is getting dryer by the minute. I feel like I apply lotion at least once an hour- and I try my best to drink 10 or 11 glasses of water a day. Since I realize that everyone’s not as obsessive about hydrating as I am, Crystal Light spokesperson, Molly Kimball, RD, has some great tips to help all of us stay hydrated during the holiday season:

1. Keep a Tally

We can’t tell how well we’re hydrated by how thirsty we will. For many of us, bu the time we start to feel thirsty, we’re already dehydrated, but just how much water is enough when it comes to staying hydrated? Keep a running tally of how much fluid you’re getting and aim for half of your body weight in ounces of fluid per day, plus an extra 16 ounces for every pound of sweat lost during exercise or work in the heat.

2. Flavor Up to Drink Up

Want to drink water to stay hydrated, but hate the boring taste? Add the flavor you want and none of what you don’t by sipping on naturally sweetened Crystal Light Pure. It has no artificial sweeteners, flavors or preservatives and is sweetened with sugar and Truvia, a natural sweetener derived from the stevia plant. And, the Grape and Strawberry Kiwi flavors have the added bonus of electrolytes!

3. Don’t Forget about Food

Staying well-hydrated is essential for maintaining optimal energy levels, preventing muscle cramping and headaches, and more serious issues like heatstroke. That doesn’t mean you have to force down gallons of water or bottles of sugar sports drinks though! Any type of alcohol-free beverage can count toward your fluid intake- and even some foods! Some of the top electrolyte-rich, hydrating foods include all types of fresh fruit, soups like gazpacho and Greek yogurt.

4. Watch the Caffeine

For years, the widely-held belief was that caffeinated beverages were dehydrating. An abundance of research has proven otherwise, however. The amount of caffeine typically found in standard servings of tea, coffee, and soft drinks appear to have no diuretic effect, meaning that these beverages don’t cause us to lose more fluid than they provide. But remember that you don’t want the majority of your fluids to come from caffeinated drinks since most health organizations recommend we limit our caffeine intake. Instead, try to vary what you’re drinking.

Thank you , Molly, for those great tips! And if you’re looking for an easy way to stay hydrated, you should give Crystal Light Pure a try.

With only 15 calories per 8 fl. oz. serving, and all natural sugars, you really can’t beat it. You can find the Grape and Strawberry Kiwi flavors at your local grocery store for $3.29 a box (seven packets in a box).

I usually stay away from flavored water because I don’t like artificial sugar, but I don’t have to worry about that with Crystal Light Pure. The Strawberry Kiwi is already a new favorite of mine.

If you want more information on how you can get your hands on Crystal Light Pure, check out their website, or follow them on Twitter.

Don’t mind me- I will just be over here hydrating, and making a million trips to the bathroom.

Are you good at hydrating?

Have you tried Crystal Light Pure yet?

In exchange for this review, I received samples from Crystal Light.

11 Responses to “Hydrating Doesn’t Have to be Hard”

  1. terranleigh December 14, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    LOVE the Crystal Light Pure’s they are simply delicious and add a little something to my water to give it a splash of flavor. I have been a Crystal Light addict though for probably the past 10 years – my grandmother always used to have Crystal Light Lemonade at her house and it wad yummy!

  2. Dorsa @ Running Thoughts December 14, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I go through at least 2 cambelbak’s of water a day! I love it..

    Does the Crystal Light Pure leave a weirdo after taste? That is why I do not like flavoring my water…

  3. Mallory @ Have Your Cake December 14, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    so funny – i just got some samples from them too! i was going to post on it, but i’m sorry to say i actually like the regular (not pure) crystal light better :/ does that make me a bad healthy living blogger? haha. idk, the pure ones are just TOO sweet for me! the regular ones taste more tart if that makes sense?

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) December 14, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I love crystal light. It’s honestly how I stay so hydrated…I cannot drink normal water any other way. πŸ™‚

  5. squigglefloey December 14, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    i love crystal light! I just don’t like how they’re so expensive 😦 Although, I guess its cheaper than buying diff. individual pre packaged bottles πŸ˜›

  6. peaceloveandoats December 15, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    I get dehydrated really easily, so i drink crazy amounts of water all day! I probably drink about 1.5 x my body weight in ounces of water everyday! And yes, I have to pee a lot too… TMI? haha

  7. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions December 16, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I like flavored water all right, but I’m perfectly content to just drink regular water, too. I got a Camelbak for my birthday (September) and they’ve really helped me to drink more water. I’ve had water bottles before and I was lucky to get through one in a regular day (I’d drink more during the summer or during a workout or whatever), but I usually put away at least two, sometimes three, full Camelbaks in a day. Being hydrated makes me feel good πŸ™‚

  8. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign December 17, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    I love that pure line of Crystal Light! The grape flavor is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

