The Wedding Shoes

28 Dec

Where has the week gone? I can’t believe that tomorrow’s already Thursday, actually my “Friday,” since it’s another holiday weekend. I have been busy, busy, busy this week, and yet I have no pictures to prove it. Let me catch you up anyway :).

Yesterday, one of my good friends, Meghann, met me near work for lunch. It was a nice break in my day, since I usually eat lunch at my desk without getting away from the office. Meg moved to Arizona last summer, so it was so good to see her while she’s in town! Unfortunately, now that I’m working full-time, I had to get back to work after an hour of conversation that went by too fast. How I (sometimes) miss those days of being a student…

Oh, campus…I just kind of miss you

After work on Tuesday, I came home and got ready for different plans- dinner with my parents, Jordan, and his parents! Until yesterday, our parents had never officially sat down and talked to each other, so we figured it was about time. My mom made hor d’oeurvres, and everyone ate and talked for nearly two hours. I was afraid the first “official meeting” might be a little awkward, but conversation flowed naturally. Our dads talked a lot about work, while our moms talked a lot about the wedding. Everyone seems to be on the same page, so I’m feeling pretty good about how the plans are coming along!

Speaking of the wedding…after work today, I had my first dress fitting! It’s kind of crazy, considering I only bought my dress a month ago, and the wedding’s still over six months away! But, it came in much sooner than expected, and that meant we had to go make the final payment (of course), and get my first round of alterations done. She didn’t do anything major, just had to take it in on top (like every other dress I’ve had to have altered since my boobs came in high school ;)), and shorten it a tiny bit so that I don’t trip on it when I’m walking down the aisle- that would not be good. I’ll go back at the end of February to try it on again. Hopefully next time it’s snug on top and good to go! While I don’t want to give away my dress, I can show you the shoes that I’m leaning towards (only, my leg will replace that metal rod in the picture, obviously).

Source

I stared at a rack of shoes in the bridal store for about ten minutes before deciding that I don’t want to wear a heel. Even though I own heels- too many pairs, actually- they just sit in the closet and never get put to use. Ballet flats are more my style, so it only makes sense that I’d wear them for my wedding. These ones have a ribbon that lace up around my legs just like a toe shoe (pointe shoe), that you might see a dancer wear. They’re comfy, they’re cute, they match my dress really well…and I used to dance (not pointe, but oh well ;)), so these are definitely a top contender. If I do go with something else, they’ll still have to be flat since that’s what I was wearing when the seamstress pinned my dress. Decisions, decisions.

Okay, guys, I better get to bed so I can rest up before work tomorrow. I plan to go shopping afterwards to find a dress for New Year’s Eve. Not like it’s last minute or anything…;). Have a great night/Enjoy your day (since most of you will probably be reading this in the morning)!

Do you get a day off for New Year’s?

If you’re married, did you wear flats or heels with your wedding dress?

 

 

6 Responses to “The Wedding Shoes”

  1. Mallory @ Have Your Cake December 29, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    i can’t wait to see your dress! im jealous you get friday off. i get monday off so i can’t complain!

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign December 29, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    Aw, cute shoes! I had the hardest time finding shoes for my wedding day! I finally ended up ordering them off the internet. Even though I’m a shrimp and my husband is super tall, I still went with ballet flats the day of my wedding to avoid tripping or having my dress get caught under the heels. I have a half day tomorrow and Monday off! You’re lucky you get all of Friday off!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance December 29, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I love that you’re changing it up and not going with the traditional wedding heels! I’m sure that your dress with compliment them perfectly 🙂

  4. peaceloveandoats December 29, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    I am no where near getting married, but I do know one thing: I am so wearing flats! I hate heels and want to be comfortable that day! Plus it’s not like anyone can see!

  5. Melissa @ Mouthwatering Morsel December 29, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Those are super cute! And def. did remind me of pointe shoes! Can’t wait til your wedding!! I can’t wait to see the pictures!!!!

  6. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions December 30, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Those shoes are GORGEOUS! I absolutely love them! I generally lean towards heels in a fancy situation, and I think weddings fall into that category, but I think the ribbon really gives the shoes an extra sense of glamour that would be perfect for a wedding. Plus flats make tripping/stumbling a lot less likely I would guess and they’re way more comfortable to stand in for an extended period of time than heels.

Leave a Reply

