The NYE Dress Dilemma

30 Dec

Finding something to wear on New Year’s Eve is a pain in the you know what.

The hardest part is, I don’t know what I’m looking for. I know that most girls are probably following the three S’s- short, slutty and sexy (and I just made that up, if you couldn’t tell ;)), but who am I kidding? It’s not like I’m trying to pick up a guy, and tight fitting dresses have never looked good on me. I’m an A-line kinda girl, and unfortunately, a lot of A-line dresses look more like high school homecoming than they do NYE.

Over the past few days, I’ve been to six or seven different stores, trying on dresses that I know won’t look good on me, and secretly hoping that they do.

Exhibit A: The Hiphugger

My face was determined to find a dress…

I’m convinced that you have to be under 5’2″ (I’m 5′ 6″), or have no hips, to pull off a dress like this. I can’t even believe I’m posting this picture on the internet (I mean really, look at all four of my hips…), but it just goes to show, clothes have the capability of making you look 30 pounds heavier than you actually are.

Exhibit B: The “I Need a Boob Job” Dress

I kind of liked this dress. It’s an A-line, it has pockets, my butt wasn’t hanging out of it, and it was reasonably priced. But my boobs didn’t agree. Even when I went down a size, it was still a little big on top. I don’t actually want a boob job, but ‘the girls’, in addition to my wide hips, do cause me some problems when it comes to finding things that fit. Guys have it so easy- pants, a shirt, and they’re done.

After all that, it looks like I will most likely be wearing something I already own.

I wore this dress once, two years ago.

I might look like a ballerina. My butt might be hanging out of it if the wind blows my way. I might look like a 16-year-old. Or I just might be overanalyzing this situation.

If you happen to have any suggests, feel free to let me know. Obviously I act like a grandma too often I don’t go out much.

What are you doing/wearing on New Year’s Eve?

If I do wear the dress above, should I wear it with tights (it’s short)? Heels or flats? Input is always helpful 🙂

14 Responses to “The NYE Dress Dilemma”

  1. Kelsey @ The Secret Life of Kelsey December 30, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I love this post! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has to try on 29384798374 dresses before I find the right one for my body!

    🙂

    I like the strapless one though! But, I have the same “no boobs” thing going on too, so I feel your pain… haha

    Just have fun!

  2. Mallory December 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    I think you look absolutely gorgeous in the a line one!!! Also I love the one you own- it’s flirty, fun, and looks comfy. That’s what nye should be about! Can’t wait to see you in it! 🙂

  3. spectacuLAUR December 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Did you ever try getting a colored tank and tucking it in to a fitted skirt? Then wear a cardigan? I have the same problem with small girls and wide hips. This combo is pretty flattering for me so I thought I would share 🙂

  4. intrepidtraveller December 30, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Cute dresses…I still have no clue what to wear but will surely find the *perfect* dress this afternoon *cough cough* 🙂 I would wear that dress with black or BRIGHT tights and high black shoes! 🙂 Something like this pic…fun for new years! 🙂 http://fashionablethings.com/2009/04/08/bright-tights/tights/

  5. Allison December 30, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I like all of them! And I don’t see what four hips you’re talking about. I think that’s just your inner perfectionist talking. 🙂

    If it were me, which it obviously isn’t, I’d wear it with tights and flats. But that’s because I’m too tall/stocky for heels, and I’m too self-conscious to not wear tights. I’d say, it’ll be COLD outside, but HOT inside, so it may be best to just go tightless and take a thick coat/scarf for the outside moments. You should go with heels IF you can stand/dance in them for hours and hours without it hurting. If not, you should probably go with flats. 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy December 31, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks for your suggestions! I’m a little self-conscious too, so I think I’ll probably wear tights. I can always take them off, haha.

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) December 30, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I cannot wear strapless dresses evere-I totally understand your pain. I’m in love with the first one myself. I can’t wait to see whichever one you choose. 🙂

  7. Melissa @ Mouthwatering Morsel December 30, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I never shop for new years. I just stay home and spend it with my parents since my other siblings are off having fun and I want the rents to be happy. But with the dress buying I feel the same thing. Except for the boob job, I wish I got one for a reduction when buying a dress. Everything will always fit except for that part! Makes me so angry!

  8. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats December 31, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    I always wear flats! I’m wearing a black skirt with a red tank top tucked in, black tights, and some brown boots.

Leave a Reply

