New Year, New Beginnings

1 Jan

And just like that, 2011 is over. Jordan and I rang in the new year downtown with coworkers and friends, after going out for a nice seafood dinner to celebrate our 3 year anniversary (which is today :)).

As you can see, I didn’t end up wearing any of the dresses that I was considering the other day. Thank goodness for Forever 21 and a patient fiance who will drive you to nearest the mall, 30 minutes away, at the last minute on a Saturday ;).

Although 2011 went by quickly, I have to admit, I’m happy that 2012 is here. While 2011 wasn’t bad, it was very overwhelming. I cried more times than I can count. I questioned myself, my relationship, my career path, and my priorities more than I’d like to admit. I suppose that’s what happens when all of these changes happen in one year. It’s a lot for a girl who doesn’t like change to take in.

Although 2012 will bring even more changes, I’m hoping that things (and- let’s be honest- I) calm down a little. While I’m not big into New Year’s resolutions, there are a few goals that I’d like to keep in mind as I enter the new year:

1. Figure out the right career path for me– This might seem like something I should have figured out before I graduated college, but at times, I still ask myself, “What should I be when I grow up?” Yes, I have a job. Yes, I enjoy writing. Is a 9-5 desk job something I want to do for the rest of my life? I don’t know. I interact with my computer more than I interact with people. I sit on my butt until my legs go numb and my wrist starts aching (I’m convinced that I’m showing early signs of carpal tunnel). Right now, I’m thankful to have a paying job that’s in the field I studied, but two, three… five years down the road, I’d like to find a job a career that I’m passionate about. And if I figure it out sooner, that would be great :).

2. Change my attitude towards people– It’s no secret that I can be a grump. I enjoy being alone, and if I’m in a mood where I want to be alone, people kinda bug me. This is just a little problem, considering I am getting married in six months and will be living with someone else, day in and day out, “for as long as we both shall live.” Luckily, Jordan’s the type of person who likes his space too, so I think we’ll be okay- but I might as well start working on this one right now…

3. Strength train more often– I think I did a fairly good job of mixing up my workouts in 2011, but they were very cardio heavy. Now that my shoulder is better, I need to start building up my strength. I’d like to incorporate strength training DVDs and classes into my routine at least two times a week. It wouldn’t hurt to be nice and toned for my wedding either ;).

4. Further this blogging adventure– When I was introduced to blogging a little over a year ago, it didn’t take me long to fall in love with it. Now, I’d really like to get more involved with it. However, it’s hard for me to get motivated when I have a full-time writing job during the day. This is where I need to work on balance…and figure out what my career path will be.

5. Stop criticizing myself– For me, graduating college and beginning a new job was like graduating high school and starting college. New people, new opinions, new cliques, new fads, and a new routine to get used to. Just like I was hard on myself when I started college, I was hard on myself when I began my job.  Five months later, I still find myself criticizing myself from time to time. “Why do I have to be the weird girl who’s always cold and wears a Snuggie?” (true story), “Why can’t I get X amount of page views like so and so?“, “Why do I prefer to go to the gym and hang out with Jordan rather than go out on ‘thirsty Thursday’ with the rest of the team?” (also a true story).

I second guess myself, and I make myself feel like who I am isn’t good enough. This needs to stop in 2012.

Despite having a few things to work on, I know that this will be a good year. After all, now I get to marry my best friend and start a new chapter in life :).

Happy 2012!

What did you do for New Year’s Eve?

What are your goals for the new year?

14 Responses to “New Year, New Beginnings”

  1. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats January 1, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    I know what you mean about blogging, with law school it’s hard to devote more time into my blog, other than writing a post for each day!

  2. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats January 1, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I just gave my friend a big hug and said happy new year! freaked her out for a minute….

  3. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats January 1, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I follow you on twitter!

  4. Katie @ Peace Love & Oats January 1, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    oops… I was trying to comment on antoher blog and got my pages mixed up….

  5. Dana January 1, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I might just steal your resolutions. Except I don’t have a blog, but I would like to work on my creative writing.

  6. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions January 1, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    I wrote pretty much the exact same comment on another blog yesterday, but I think it’s fine to have graduated from college and still not be 100% sure about what you want to do. Well, really, I think it’d be pretty hard to ever do anything that you will always, every single day, for the rest of your life say, “Yes, this is exactly where I want to be/what I want to be doing/who I want to be with” or whatever. I think it’s human nature to always wonder what if? Last year I had a friend who was really struggling with figuring out his vocation, and I remember comparing careers to marriage when I was trying to offer him encouragement (because *obviously* Miss Eternally Single over here TOTALLY knows everything there is to know about marriage…haha). Chances are you’re not going to always like everything about your spouse and might even find him wearing on your nerves (Seven Year Itch and all that), but even with those things, you’re still willing to make it work because though you may not like everything about him, you still love him. It seems to me like jobs and careers can be a lot like that, too. Obviously you don’t want to be stuck in a dead-end job (or a relationship) just for the sake of having one (if other opportunities are available in the case of a job, because while you can live as a single person, you can’t live very well as an unemployed person). I told my friend, “Maybe doing what you love isn’t about being madly in love with it all the time. Maybe doing what you love is more about doing what you can handle the thought of doing daily.” I don’t know if that’s at all helpful, but I figured I’d offer it.

  7. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany January 2, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    Oh my gosh I am so much like you when it comes to being a grump! I like my space but am trying to get more out there. My husband and I just moved from the USA to Germany (he’s Army) in September and he is deploying in a few days. I am trying to be more social so I don’t fall into a depression when he leaves but it’s still tough. I like “me” time more than “people” time, if that makes sense.

    happy new year!

  8. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance January 2, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    Girlie, I’m with you on figuring out my life too haha. I’m still in school, but it would be nice to have more of an idea by the end of 2012.

    Great goals 🙂

  9. Mallory @ Have Your Cake January 2, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    beautiful post! 3-5 are my goals as well. and you look amazing in that dress! it looks so nice!

  10. Grace January 2, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Since I’ve been a terrible blogger and apparently missed that you got engaged! Congrats and good luck in the New year:) I rang in the New Year at a family party and had a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

