Just a Part of Life

5 Jan

It’s hard to know what to expect in a new year. Will it be good? Will it be bad? Will it be sad? There’s a lot of unknown answers to questions that I think about in this over analytical mind of mine. And this first week of the new year has been more stressful than I had planned (I know, I know, like you can plan “life”…).

Some changes, good and bad, went on at work that I wasn’t expecting. The honeymoon deal that Jordan and I purchased several weeks ago turned out to be very misleading (not quite a scam, but pretty close)- so now we have to cancel that and figure out where to go. We’re also in the process of getting pre-approved for a mortgagea complicated task.

And my grandpa is sick. You can forget the rest of that petty, materialistic stuff, because this is what’s been on my mind the most this week. If you remember- my grandpa, my mom’s mom, passed away in June. Then Jordan and I said goodbye to his grandma in September. This week, my other grandpa, my dad’s dad, was admitted to hospice.

At Lauren’s wedding, in October

He’s 83-years-old. He’s lived a long life. He’s been a great husband, father, grandfather, brother and friend. But that doesn’t mean it isn’t sad. Those who know me, know that I’m a terribly emotional person. Dealing with difficult situations just makes my moodiness worse. So, I’ve been eating a little more this week, exercising a little less, and spending a lot of quality time with reality TV.

I know it kind of sucks to talk about, and read about, these kind of things on blogs, but the reality is (as my mom keeps reminding me), this is just a part of life.

7 Responses to “Just a Part of Life”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) January 5, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear girl. My prayers are with you and your family. I know how hard it must be for you right now.

  2. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany January 6, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    I’m sorry about this. I’m keeping you in my thoughts

  3. Michael S. January 6, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Our prayers are with you! Everything will work out in the end. I know its not your number one priority right now but if you are still thinking about going on your honeymoon where you told kelli. Let me know and I can get you the name of the travel agent we had, she is amazing! Keep your head up

  4. Kristen @ notsodomesticated January 7, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Sending hugs your way. It sounds like you have quite a lot going on right now. I will be praying for you and your family!

  5. Mallory @ Have Your Cake January 8, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I’m so sorry, Emily. Just know you have a ton of support– your family & friends, Jordan, and all of your blog readers!

  6. Jess January 13, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    You are in my thoughts!

Leave a Reply

