Chocolate Makes Me Feel Better

10 Jan

Thank you all so much for your thoughts and prayers on last week’s post. Over the weekend, Jordan and I drove to Michigan to see my grandpa and spend time with family. I wasn’t sure I’d be able to handle it (I was warned that he didn’t look like himself), but it ended up being a therapeutic experience. That’s not to say it wasn’t hard to see him (I cried…a lot), but I am glad that I went. Though Jordan and I have been through a lot this year, it has made us grow much closer- a good thing that has come out of all of this.

* * * * * * * * * *

Stress does funny things to my body. I get moody, I get sluggish, and I crave chocolate. A lot of it. My appetite’s been been all over the place lately, but one thing’s for sure-my chocolate cravings still exist-as you can see by this morning’s breakfast.

I topped a 1/2 cup oatmeal, mixed with 1 cup coconut milk, with unsweetened coconut, dark chocolate, peanut butter and some Quaker Oatmeal squares.

Sort of dessert in a bowl, but exactly what I was craving. I drank a cup of coffee alongside my oatmeal, brewed in my dad’s new Keurig. Normally I’m a tea drinker, but I love how easy coffee is to brew in the Keurig- and there’s no clean-up afterwards! I think I know what’s going on our wedding registry ;).

Speaking of the wedding (and marriage), Jordan and I have officially been pre-approved for a house! We have to move fairly quickly since we’d like to start moving in, ideally, in less than six months, so tomorrow night, we’re meeting with a builder.Β  We’re fortunate that Indiana has a decent housing market and a lot of open land (land not in demand= reasonable prices for a new house ), so building a starter home is not out of our budget. I’m excited to talk to someone and see what our options might be!

Alright, I’m going to get back to ‘Dance Moms.’ As you can see, I have big priorities tonight ;).

 

13 Responses to “Chocolate Makes Me Feel Better”

  1. amy January 10, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Glad to hear you’re doing ok. Life deals us a tough hand of cards sometimes, but the support of people you love really shines through and helps us see the light. Hope you’re hanging in there, and congrats on the house!! Xo

  2. peaceloveandoats January 10, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    okay 1. I also watched Dance Moms this evening, 2. congrats on your approval, how cool would it be to build your own home?!?!!! and 3. I have a keurig and LOVE it. you can also make tea with it, with their cups or you can just run the hot water through it. So easy!

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign January 11, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    Ah, congrats about the house! Please oh please keep us updated!

  4. ohshineon January 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Chocolate makes everything in life seem a bit better. I’m glad everything is okay and that I stumbled over your blog right at the time you were posting about chocolate. Makes sense… for me.

  5. Kristen @ notsodomesticated January 11, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Chocolate makes EVERYTHING better. πŸ˜‰ Congratulations on being pre-approved!!

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) January 11, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Congrats girl. I have been eating so much chocolate and felt a lot better ha. After that good news I’d just seriously lay in bed the rest of the night gloating! πŸ˜‰

  7. LeeAnn January 18, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    When I learned that my grandma didn’t have long, all I did was eat and get a million pimples. I was a mess for the week before and the week after. Thankfully, my appetite and complexion are much better. Coping is coping. As long as it helps and isn’t permanent (or harmful to yourself or others), whatever works goes. You and your family are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

