Perfect Timing

17 Jan

Thank you all for your kind words on Sunday’s post. It means a lot to me :). I worked from home last Thursday and Friday, so I am slowly getting myself back into the regular work week. Is it really only Tuesday?

– – – – – – – – – – – – – –

So far, January has been a strange month. I’ve been extra emotional for obvious reasons, and I’ve also been feeling kind of blah. My daily routine is getting extremely monotonous, and though I like having a routine, I also crave variety. When I was in college, I had five or six classes, an internship, and extracurriculars. Now that I’m in the “real world,” I have one 9-5 desk job- it’s hard to get used to.

Last Friday, I entered Gabriela’s giveaway. Then a lot happened, and I kind of forgot about it. So today, when my sister texted me to inform me that I won the giveaway, I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect timing.

My giveaway gift

Perfect timing because, reading that poster just added to the other aha moments I had today.

This afternoon, as I was sitting at my desk at work, with writer’s block and in a funk, I had one of those, “What am I doing with my life?” moments. I decided to run an errand to get out of the office and clear my head, and while I was driving, I heard this song on the radio:

Now, I know this song is, essentially, about breaking up, but I think songs can be interpreted in different ways. And today, the line, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller…” really made an impact on me. Read: when I got back to the office, I listened to it on YouTube on repeat for a good 10 or so minutes. There’s this motivation in me that I haven’t felt in a long time. To do something about my “blahness,” and make something of my life.

I have a few ideas in mind for changing things up (I’ll discuss in a later post), but I do believe that everything happens for a reason- this song, that poster, these feelings of inspiration- I think they’re here for a reason.

I probably sound like a crazy person (and I wouldn’t completely deny that ;)), but I do feel that there are good things are come in the next few months.

The poster says, “Live your dream and share your passion.” And that’s exactly what I hope to do.

Do you have any goals for 2012?

Do you ever feel like you get in a rut and need a change?

10 Responses to “Perfect Timing”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ January 17, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Wow that is so true. I never really thought about it that way and that has been one of my favorite songs for quite some time now. I am in need of a change via all this social media. Sometimes it really bogs me down and I wonder what I’m doing.

    I hope everything goes well in the next few months for you! πŸ™‚

  2. amy January 18, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    I absolutely LOVE the Holstee Manifesto. I just started my final semester of college yesterday (AHHH!) and am trying my hardest to enjoy where I am, who I’m with, the present moment, etc. This is my life RIGHT NOW! So excited you have that poster πŸ™‚

  3. Katelyn January 18, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Feel better!! You should also listen to the Sara Evans song “A Little Bit Stronger” — another “break up” song but I think you will really like it right now. I have a whole playlist I’ve been listening to like crazy lately. Let me know if you want more of these “self empowerment” songs πŸ™‚

  4. Dorsa @ Running Thoughts January 18, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandpa 😦 But I am happy that he lived a long and happy life πŸ™‚

  5. Caitlin C. January 18, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    LOVE that song!! I’m so glad its her next single. Her whole new album is great though. What an awesome prize! I love inspiring things like that poster, that you can use as both decor and encouragement. I know what you mean about college to work life. I had so much going on at school and each day was a diff class/work/gym schedule. Now it’s always work, gym, dinner, sleep. I went out to eat tonight tho and it was a nice little Wed treat!

  6. Krystie January 19, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    That giveaway prize is so sweet! I love that song it motivates me while running! When I feel like I need a change, I find new recipes and take it out on my kitchen haha! Have a great day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

