The Day (or two) After Strength Training

26 Jan

Is it normal to…(?)

Hobble around like an 80-year-old grandma.

Drink water like it’s my job.

Feel like a bottomless pit.

Wonder, “Does childbirth hurt worse than this?”

Swear off burpees. And planks. Forever.

Dread putting on skinny jeans, knowing that they’ll squeeze my already sore legs.

Feel attempted to take a sick day, because “my whole body hurts.”

Remember how I said I took a tough strength training class on Tuesday? I should’ve put more emphasis on the tough part. This is the first time, in a long time, that my body has hurt (so much.).

I had to give up my favorite strength training class at the gym when I had my surgery last summer. On Tuesday, for the first time in seven months, I went back to that class. During the class, I was proud of how strong I am now, and how quickly my shoulder’s recovered. After the class…well, read above :).

Strangely enough, I kind of love this feeling because I know I worked muscles that haven’t been worked in a long time. Sitting all day at work and letting those muscles get tighter? Not my favorite.

Speaking of work, I must hobble off now ;). Have a great day!

Have you experienced any or all of the above after a tough strength training workout?

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “The Day (or two) After Strength Training”

  1. bearrunner January 26, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    It’s a good hurt though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Cheers

  2. laiusky85 January 26, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    I love the “Does childbirth hurt more than this?” I think I have been there a couple of times. But like you said, within the pain it just feels soooo good! Because you know that you have worked hard.

  3. Caitlin January 26, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I love being sore like that, it’s the definition of “hurts so good”! I definitely know how it feels to be a bottomless pit after strength training – but I kinda love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Krystie January 26, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I love that feeling! I do feel very sore after a group fitness class since I normally do my own thing. Having an instructor push you to a new level always brings that good pain haha ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions January 26, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Hahaha I totally relate to your feeling. I’m in a pretty tough fitness class at school right now, and there have been days where moving seemed like the most outrageous request possible due to all my soreness haha. I really do love it, though…I mean, soreness sucks in the sense that you’re, you know, sore, but I feel like I worked so hard and got so much out of it if I’m sore that I don’t mind.

  6. Health Freak College Girl January 26, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    that’s so funny that you posted this. i started back to weight training (after being injured) and i have been in pain these last couple of days! in a good way of course. i love the feeling though ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Mallory @ Have Your Cake January 26, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    what’s funny is that i feel like i got hit by a truck after TWENTY MINUTES of jillians 30 day shred yet i can run 10+ miles and not feel anything!!!! either i am out of shape in all aspects besides running or that woman is INSANE!

  8. LeeAnn January 27, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    Best. Feeling. Ever. …it’s funny how being in pain can be so satisfying ๐Ÿ™‚

    and now I’m majorly missing all of my strength classes I don’t have time for since I have taken up teaching 7-8 Zumba classes a week in addition to school….BUT! I did get two Jillian dvds! I needed inspiration to try one out and you’ve just given me that! So excited! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

